Skip to content

What a girl wants, what a girl needs

February 28, 2008

Whoa! Women play video games? Sound the alarms! While I’m on the fence about the scholarship award (I have issues with affirmative action policies) I do applaud these women in the industry that want more women to be a part of it.

We got our Atari 2600 when I was 12 years old, and I don’t remember there being a stigma against my playing it just because I was a girl. There were no “girl” titles like I see now for PCs and console games. My parents, brother and I spent many nights playing Donkey Kong, PacMan, Yar’s Revenge and Pitfall. I still feel shaky at the thought of navigating poor Pitfall Harry over the crocodile pits. 🙂

What turns me off from a game is complex controls and insanely difficult combo moves. Not because I can’t mash the buttons fast enough or memorize the combos…I just don’t *want* to memorize combos or madly mash buttons. I love games with a storyline, increasing levels of difficulty, or strategy. (“Hey…there’s a bandage on King Hippo’s belly…what happens if I punch it?”) Since when is wanting those elements in a game a female thing?

The only thing I feel is missing from the MMORPGs I’ve played — World of Warcraft included — is the option to have my female characters fully clothed. If I want her to go gallivanting around in just a chain mail brassiere and thong, that’s fine. But if I feel weird about it, let me put a shirt and pants on beneath my armored lingerie. It gets chilly in the mountains of Winterspring.

***

Back to WoW…My guild’s doing part 1 of a new Karazhan run tonight. Since most of them are west coast, starting time is 10:00pm EST. Because I need to be coherent for work tomorrow I’m going to pass on this one and either have Akromah grind Consortium reputation for new jewelcrafting patterns or start levelling up my little warlock.

***

I’m still getting used to this blogging interface, so please excuse any inconsistencies in font size/style.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

