Skip to content

Living the mod life

October 16, 2008

When you only have an hour or so per weeknight to play a game such as WoW, huge patches mean huge downtime.

I couldn’t get in on Tuesday night. Last night I did get in, but I spent my time reallocating my talent points. So now Akro has 43 points into holy, 5 into protection and 13 into retribution. I researched this build…not at all. We’ll see how it goes. As soon as the armory gets updated, I’ll post the link again.

Tonight I’m busy downloading new mods. Mods (short for modules, also called addons) are tiny programs that run within a game to make it easier to play. Some think they constitute cheating. I think I only have an hour or so per night to play and if someone went through the trouble to write a program that helps me keep track of where I last mined mithril, that’s fine with me.

The hardest part of having mods is keeping them updated. Whenever Blizzard changes the code (like Tuesday’s “Echoes of DOOOOM!” patch), the mod writers have to quickly rewrite their scripts. Then the lazy time-starved player has to download the new versions.

Here’s what I’m installing tonight:

Auctioneer – I have one of my characters standing at the auction house, and she uses auctioneer to scan all of the items up for sale. She does this once a day, usually while I’m getting ready for work. The program stores the average starting bid and buyout amount for each item. That data can now be shared among all of my characters on the server without my having to send them to the auction house themselves.

Bagnon – a WoW character gets five bag slots. Normally, when you want to look for an item you’d have to click on each bag to open it. This takes ALL your bags’ contents and shows it all at once. Love this one.

Bartender – this is new for me. It will let me set up my action bars anywhere on the screen, as opposed to across the bottom and up the right side, which is the default. Since the update changed a lot of Akromah’s spells and I’ll have to relearn cast order anyway, may as well move everything around and see if I can arrange them more intuitively.

Outfitter – with this mod, I can instantly switch between sets of armor with one click. Without it, I have to drag a pair of boots out of my bag and place it on my character. Then I drag a pair of pants out of my bag…etc etc.

There are a few others I use (spell cooldown timers, quest trackers, healing assistants) that haven’t been updated yet. I can play without them — I can play without any of them — so I’m not concerned.

I just reread this post and concluded I’m a lazy player.

Safe travels!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2008 6:22 pm

    I love WOW addons. I use Aucioneer, don’t I use the bag on tried it and removed it. I just hit “Shift + B” to open all my bags.

  2. John B permalink
    October 20, 2008 7:46 am

    Thanks for letting me know about some addons. The only one I use is questhelper. If you don’t know what it is, it shows you where to go, on your map, during quests and it shows on the right hand of the screen the status of the quests. Pretty helpful I must say.

  3. Demondjman permalink
    December 16, 2008 5:00 pm

    that bagnon thing I tried it, its not that good, you should try baudbag it is better

Leave a Reply

