Skip to content

Don't lose your head!

October 24, 2008

“Horseman rise…
Your time is nigh…
You felt death once…
Now, know demise!”

I brought Akromah into the game last night for a few moments. I was planning to say hi to the guild, then move between watching The Office and the World Series.

Immediately, I get an invite to a group from a guildie. It’s a pet peeve of mine when I’m invited to a group without someone telling me what we’re doing first (even in-guild) so I decline it.

It was for a Headless Horseman run. He’s a level 70 elite that spawns in the Scarlet Monastery graveyard. I told the tank that I was going to be paying attention to the TV and not the game. “Five minutes! It’ll only take five minutes!” he begged. I hate when they beg.

I was a bit wary, as I hadn’t healed a darn thing since patch day and I’m still hashing out how my spells work and the disaster that is my custom bars. But what the heck. You only get to see the Headless Horseman during Hallows’ End. And our party had a priest in it already, so even if I completely went brain dead, someone else would heal.

And so we went – four players from my guild: Protection Tank, Discipline Priest, Holy Pally (me!), Affliction Warlock (my guy) and an Arcane Mage from a guild we run with often.

Once inside the Scarlet Monastery instance, a brave person summons the HH.

Attitude comes free!

Attitude comes free!

It’s a fun and quick fight. First you DPS the Horseman down to 1%, then his head flies off while the body heals up. When they rejoin he sets someone on fire, loses his head again, then tosses pulsating pumpkins that spawn pumpkin soldiers, then loses his head again, repeat until dead.

We were using the Trick or Treat costume wands on each other, so I did most of the fighting as a pirate.

Yar!

Yar!

Each of us summoned him twice, so the loot was plentiful and sweet! Akro got (in ascending order of coolness):

Tricky Treat (gives you a 30 second speed buff called “Sugar Rush!”)
Weighted Jack-o’-Lantern
Witches Band
The Horseman’s Blade (I get pumpkin minions! I tried it, but my modem burped and I missed seeing them in action. /shakefist @ Comcast)

My new sword!

My new sword!

and….and… and!!!

Magic Broom!

It acts like a horse when you’re in the old world and acts like a flying mount in Outland.

Here’s Akro looking all witchy in a black dress on her broom.

I'll get you, my pretty!

I'll get you, my pretty!

Even though the five minutes turned into 40 minutes, I thanked my guildie for making me go.

This weekend I’m planning on doing NOTHING save my usual Sunday-morning coffee & newspaper reading at Starbucks. If I didn’t have dogs, I wouldn’t even leave my apartment tomorrow. So I’ll sign up for our scheduled Karazhan run tomorrow. I don’t need anything from there, but I’m a rusty healer who needs practice.

Safe travels!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2008 3:36 am

    Oh how cool that you were able to do the HH run? What level do you have to be to summon the Horseman? I’m hearing conflicting information regarding that.

    Akromah received some really nice drops! Congrats on the broom. I like them a lot. πŸ™‚

  2. October 26, 2008 2:13 pm

    I think everyone has to be level 70 to do it. Grats on making it to Outlands, by the way! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

