Skip to content

Leeeeeeroy Jenk – ah, whatever

November 21, 2008

Have you heard of Leeroy Jenkins? No? Okay…watch the video below and I’ll catch you on the other side.

I remember dying in the Rookery! Not as spectacularly, but still. And once or twice, I have said “Leeeeeroy Jenkins!” in real life before doing something I knew was stupid.

With the implementation of achievements in version 3.0, Blizzard added Leeeeeeeeeeeeeroy!, which will give the player the opportunity to add “Jenkins” as a title. As in “Akromah Jenkins.”

Jenkins is one of the most popular titles on my server by far. I think the second most popular title is “The Hallowed.” My “of the Shattered Sun” is so last expansion pack. /sigh So after seeing the thousandth “Jenkins” pass me by last night, I decided to research him a little bit more.

And I found this fluffy Friday-friendly article: The Legend of Leeroy Jenkins which covers Leeroy’s creator, the price of his fame, plus a sprinkling of the usual “Mainstream Media” cluelessness about gamers. It’s a seven page story, with over-the-top maudlin lines such as, “It’s not as easy to catch up in real life as it is in World of Warcraft; there’s no clear-cut route to Level 70.” Thanks, Oprah. /eyeroll

I’m amazed that Leeroy was a paladin. I thought he’d have been a hunter. 😉

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 26, 2008 4:22 pm

    I was a long time Everquest player. Never cracked open WoW. (Not enough time in the day. It was called EverCrack for a reason. Ha.) I have actually seen spectacular wipes such as this.

Leave a Reply

