Skip to content

Welcome to Level 80 – you stink!

December 13, 2008

A bunch of our guildies are level 80 now, so tonight we thought, HEY! Let’s get a Naxxramas run going!

So there we were, a party of:

  • 2 tanks: prot warrior & feral druid
  • 2 healers: resto shaman & yours truly, the holy paladin
  • DPSers: marksman hunter, 2 fire mages, arms warrior, affliction warlock & balance druid

and while we carved through the trash like nobody’s business, we wiped SIX times on the first (and last) boss we tried: Anub’Rekhan.

It was quite the reality check. After ripping our way through TBC content and easily reaching 80 after the expansion each and every one of us realized that we are really not-so-good anymore. We have work to do.

Tonight Akro strode into that dungeon with her head held high. Then we met the boss. I healed my little heart out, used up all of my mana, glanced at the boss and I swear, it was still at 75% health. Crud. I hit a mana potion, hit my trinkets, hit my divine plea and divine illumination and got my mana up to 50%. Then I healed away. Checked the boss and it wasn’t even at 50%.

“Mana!” I squeaked into the microphone, and things fell to pieces. Shampoo, rinse, repeat.

Don't let the image fool you. I'm lame.

Don't let the image fool you. I'm lame.

We called it and split into 2 groups to run Heroic Utgarde Keep. And I struggled my way through that, too. We wiped twice – once on the first boss and once on the last boss. I felt like the lamest of the lame players on my server.

I distinctly remember feeling this way when we first ran Karazhan, too. I know it’ll get better. It’s just hard being at the bottom of the totem pole again.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Telidon permalink
    December 15, 2008 8:38 am

    Look to achieve the following and you and your guildies should be good to go.

    – TANK: You will need to able to tank at least heroics with no problem, and obviously have defense capped and minimum 26,000 health.

    – HEALER: You will need to able to heal at least heroics with no problem, and have at least 1600 spell damage, and enough spirit/mp5 to survive through fight

    – DPS: You will need to have at least 1500 DPS output

  2. December 15, 2008 1:49 pm

    Thanks for the help! I don’t have close to 1600 unbuffed spellpower yet, so I’m going to have to spend some of the gold I’ve been hording on enchants and crafted upgrades.

  3. December 16, 2008 9:55 am

    Sorry to hear about the wipe. I had read end-game instances is tough. Holiterra is still at 77. I’ve given her a break and will most likely play her this week. I do hop on her to heal instances for guildmates. Although they have not pushed I know they will be happy when she dings 80. Our guild is currently waiting for more healers to reach end game. The last time I checked I was at 1200 unbuffed. I haven’t added any enchants to her gear but I’m planning on doing so soon since my hunter (now level 52) is an enchanter.

    OT My personal websites have been down for about a week moving to the VPS was more than I anticipated, but hopefully they will be up and running by this weekend.

  4. December 17, 2008 8:34 am

    “So there we were, a party of:

    2 tanks: prot warrior & feral druid
    2 healers: resto shaman & yours truly, the holy paladin
    DPSers: marksman hunter, 2 fire mages, arms warrior, affliction warlock & balance druid ”

    Gasp! No rogues!
    Let the rogue bashing begin šŸ˜‰

  5. December 18, 2008 10:49 am

    Oh don’t even go there. I love rogues! We just didn’t have one available.

    I have an abandoned level 60 rogue, Sandriara, on my old Alliance server whom I miss dearly. I rolled another Sandriara on my current server but sadly for her I love my pally more. “Little Sandy” is only level 14.

Trackbacks

  1. World of Warcraft Wanderings » Weekend in Naxxramas - Day 1
  2. WoW, I’m in a slump | World of Warcraft Wanderings

Leave a Reply

