Skip to content

Sitting on the dock of the bay

January 14, 2009

Wasting time:

What, doesn't everyone fish in a formal black dress?

What, doesn't everyone fish in a formal black dress?

Lately, here’s where you can find me in game. Raising up the ol’ fishing skill. I haven’t been able to dedicate the required two eyeballs to WoW lately, but fishing lets me be in the game and accomplish something outside the game at the same time. (I’m teaching myself PHP and MySQL stuff. New Year’s Resolution and all.)

I started fishing with this character when I created her. My guy rolled his eyes, as he was of the opinion that fishing is the most boring hobby there is. (I love poking at the outdoor blogs, just to see if they check where their incoming links are from!) I explained that to me fishing was like gambling. You never know what you’re going to get when you cast. My love for fishing out at around 175 skill since my leveling outpaced the good fishing spots.*

Then one day out of boredom, he picked up a rod and reel and wouldn’t you know it he now he has shiny hooks and a hat, some special Kalu’ak fishing pole, a crocolisk pet and a title and … well … yeah. I told him so. 🙂

And here I am…

Shoot me now.

Shoot me now.

My goal is to be able to fish out of the Dalaran fountain for the coins. So now you know where to find me on nights when I only have one eyeball to dedicate to WoW. I should at least buy her a fishing-type outfit.

*By the way, with the exception of visiting trainers, you can level your fishing the whole way in any body of water. Which is why Akro’s in Orgrimmar. You’ll catch crummy low-level fish, but your skill will still increase. And I can still scan trade chat for requests for Jewelcrafter cuts.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 17, 2009 11:17 am

    I love fishing – it’s always been highly profitable in one way or another, from the recipes and cloth that come out of the boxes in Azeroth, and the Deviate Fish that everyone loves, through to the stack of Nettlefish my guildmate sold for 150g yesterday…

    Plus it’s great to do when you’re doing other things – talking on the phone, listening to an audiobook, whatever. Works for me 🙂

    Valdesta
    WoWGrrl.com

    PS: My bank toon is a tuxedo 🙂

Leave a Reply

