Skip to content

There's a lesson in here, somewhere.

January 28, 2009
tags:

Last night, I went grocery shopping. The Wegmans in Cherry Hill is absolutely delightful on weeknights. The warlock and I had some pizza (very good!) and wings (meh*) for dinner and shopped for the week’s supply of food.

This story has nothing to do with WoW, except it explains why I got into game later than usual. So rather than start my Sons of Hodir quest line (I am STILL putting that off) or progress my “Death’s Rise” quest line I decided to do my JC daily, That’s Abominable, Volatility and Drag and Drop.

And mine, of course. From my mount I saw a Saronite node. Aha! I landed, but ended up about 5 or so feet away when I dismounted. As I was one step away from the node, a dwarf paladin swooped down from his mount and tapped it. I sighed, remounted and moved on.

A second later, another node lights up on my map. Titanium! I descend, and grab it. Which got turned into a Titanum bar, which then was combined into a Titansteel bar, which sold for about 188g.

If it wasn’t for the rude little dwarf paladin, I’d be less the 188g. So thank you, obnoxious Alliance kneebiter!

By the way, today my colleague in Guam writes about Lunar Festival. I’m surprised his guild took a break from the Sartharion-with-three-drakes-up-while-drunk-and-wearing-an-eyepatch raiding to visit the Elders. 😉

*South Jerseyans, I’m looking for good Buffalo wings. I loved Billy’s Hen House in Cherry Hill, but it’s closed and now a Fat Jacks is there. The Coop in Voorhees is closed, too. I’m not so fond of PJ’s. Any suggestions?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. John permalink
    January 29, 2009 8:14 am

    I just wanted to let you know that you can get the absolute best wings at the Jug Handle Inn bar. Located on Forklanding Road and Route 73 in Cinnaminson. It is more of a Maple Shade hangout. It looks like a dive bar inside and out, but the people there are really nice and the food is awesome! You can order take out if you would like, (the wings are good, but not as good as ordered at the bar), just make sure you bring cash because they don’t take any kind of cards. They have an ATM machine, but that charges you your first born and your gaming wit, so it is best to stop at the Wawa on Forklanding Rd. in Maple Shade before you stop in.

    If you order them and bring them home, spread them out on a cookie sheet and put in your oven at 400 degrees and bake for 10 minutes to make them re-crispy and hot.

    If you looking to order them for the game I would suggest getting your order in early as they become EXTREMELY busy on game day.

  2. January 29, 2009 11:45 am

    Mmmmm…I’m drooling already. Maybe I can convince the warlock to go to a bar for dinner one night after the big game frenzy dies down.

    Thanks!

  3. January 29, 2009 3:32 pm

    Not so fond of PJs?! You should be taxed 250g for such heresy.

    I’m not so sure about the local SJ joints, but I did see a great front-of-the-book piece in a recent Esquire (Feb 09, I think) that rated the best wings at a bunch of chain joints. They concluded that, while Papa Johns and Dominos were awful, awful, awful (0 out of 5 stars), the ones at Buffalo Wild Wings were actually pretty solid (4 of 5 stars, if I remember right).

  4. Joe permalink
    January 31, 2009 3:49 pm

    Genovas in Audubon (http://www.audubonmenus.com/menus/genovas.htm) and Paradise Pizza in Bellmawr (http://www.bellmawrmenus.com/menus/paradise.htm) are both awesome. I think they use the same recipe and sauce, as they are virtually identical. They are both breaded and fried without the sauce, but the breading has a little kick to it. They both give you hot sauce on the side which you dip the wings in while eating. I may need to head there tonight after describing them, LOL.

    I used to love The coop, and I do miss them for both their wings and ribs.
    Genovas and Paradise are a bit different than the coop, but in my opinion and all my friends opinion, they are better.
    Similar wings to The coop that deliver to voorhees/CH area can be found at Tony Sopranos Pizza in Somerdale and Healthy Garden and gourmet pizza (which used to be Echo pizza) http://www.healthygardencafe.com. Healthy Garden also has the benefit of offering other really healthy food to balance out the high fat wings.

    Buffalo Wild wings are also awesome like Ted said, but the closest one to SJ is about an hour away in Delaware.

    Hope this helped.

    Anyone know what happened to the coop? Also, can anyone suggest a place that has comparable ribs to the coop?

  5. Styfios permalink
    January 31, 2009 6:40 pm

    PJ’s, as in PJ’s pancake house? You don’t like that?!?
    If you’re near Princeton, Chuck’s Springstreet Cafe has really good wings.

  6. John permalink
    February 2, 2009 2:01 pm

    As far as ribs go there are a couple of chain restaurants that have really good samplings. One I highly recommend is Famous Dave’s restaurant, mmm really good. Another is Outbacks ribs. And there is a tent at Lincoln Financial Field during Eagles games at the main gate that sells AMAZING ribs. For $20 or $25 dollars you get a rack of ribs that looks like the rack that Fred Fintstone gets set on his car at the end of the opening music. In other words HUGH. Well worth the money. Need atleast two people to finish the rack.

Leave a Reply

