Skip to content

A healer's lament

March 3, 2009

As you probably have figured out by now, I don’t put a lot of stock into gathering achievements or completing all end-game content. I play to the tune of a different drummer.

I enjoy gathering new jewelcrafting patterns and making cuts for friends and strangers. I don’t enjoy spending entire weekends raiding. I enjoy playing the auction house “market.” I don’t enjoy reputation grinding. I enjoy healing.

Actually, I used to enjoy healing.

Something happened to me in the last month or so. Healing became a chore. The in-game achievements that everyone else wants usually require the party to engage in stupid tactics that more often than not, tax the healer. I used to enjoy the 5-person Heroic runs, but there’s so much going on that I feel a Holy Priest or Resto Druid would make a better healing choice. I don’t have a disease cleansing totem or a heal-over-time spell. There’s only so much Beacon of Light and Glyph of Holy Light can do.

Mana regeneration is being decreased in 3.1 by around 40% when out of combat, which will mean more healer downtime during a run. The paladin’s Divine Plea was changed to penalize healing by 50% while it’s ticking. I can’t chance that in a 5-person. And the aforementioned Glyph of Holy Light? Nerfed in 3.1 – the splash heals on party members will no longer crit. Another little cushion being taken away.

Akromah’s runs of late have been unenjoyable to say the least. LOOOOOOONG runs. Lots of wipes. Worse, I started feeling resentful toward others. That character should be better geared. This one consistently stands in the wrong spot. Why aren’t they dpsing faster? Why do others get to go on quick & fun badge runs, but the groups I get languish for hours and end up dissolving mid-dungeon? Why me?

No. NO! I’m putting my foot down. That attitude will not stand with me. This is only a game. And I play it to have fun.

So I’m putting Akromah away for the time being. There are more than enough healers in my guild. I’m enjoying playing Leota (now known in the guild as WWM – short for World’s Worst Mage) and not having the fates of nine other players rest upon my healing finger. And I’m having fun again.

Have you ever considered one of your characters “finished?” Healers, is this a case of burnout?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2009 11:31 am

    Yep, definitely been feeling the burnout with my Holy Priest which is why I have not been playing her as much. That topped with raid nights being at 8:00, my daughter is still awake at that time. Well, healing is at the bottom of my list these days.

    I’m with you I really don’t get into the achievements. I could care less about them. I’m happy for my buddies that do like them but for myself well I really like doing my own thing within WOW and its not always what the folks at Blizzard thinks is achievement worthy. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. March 3, 2009 8:15 pm

    I’ve experienced the feeling of being “finished” with a character before, but not in terms of healing. That was how I felt about my hunter when she reached 70. I hadn’t been in a lot of groups, then suddenly there I was in Shadow Labs and struggling to learn chain trapping on the fly. (I’ve improved, but when you first start… ugh)

    That is when I put her to the side and leveled my warlock. Which I love dearly now. Although, for a period of time I was afraid I was finished with her because of some of the issues with the raiding guild I was in. Mainly, me not being able to commit the time they could and trying to get up to speed with my gear and stats after they’d been geared for many more months than I. For me, the server transfer fixed my feelings of being finished… but it was really based on the people I chose to surround myself with.

    And now, I’m playing both frequently (among a bajillion alts, of course!) ๐Ÿ˜›

  3. Espen Wold permalink
    March 4, 2009 2:58 am

    Hi. Know the feeling! Am a pallahealer and I am tried of healing 10-naxx and everything else in my way. I also have a rouge and a mage as I play on for now – hope I get the healing-feeling back soon. lol

    • March 5, 2009 10:15 am

      Thank you all for the good words. It just feels weird to have put so much work into one character and willingly put it aside.

  4. Cosmo the Fallacy permalink
    March 5, 2009 8:18 pm

    *cough*RET*cough*

    *ahem*

    I seem to have had a two-handed sword stuck in my throat. Odd, that.

    [This comment provided by a complete WoW Goob.]

Trackbacks

  1. Slain by puppy dog eyes | World of Warcraft Wanderings

Leave a Reply

