Skip to content

Lost: A paladin t-shirt and a paladin

March 20, 2009
tags:

As I dug through my spring things for the trip last week I realized that my paladin t-shirt has gone missing.

Maybe it’s packed inside another shirt in my “spring/summer” boxes (it’s happened) or maybe it never made it back from the laundromat. But I’m bummed because it was a neat-looking shirt and it cost me $20 plus shipping.

The shirt situation parallels how I feel about Akromah right now. I don’t know what to do with her. I miss healing, but I don’t miss the stress of healing, and I really won’t miss it come 3.1. I could send her down the retribution path, but I’m DPSing it up right now with the mage. So she stays in limbo. Which makes me bummed because she’s a great character and cost me hours of playtime to get her to 80.

Our guild lost one of our really good tanks yesterday. (Rereads item 1 of Things I Won’t Blog About, deletes two lines.) And while we have tanks left, we could always use another. Then I wondered…could I play a tank?

The answer for now is I don’t know, but I posted the idea on Twitter yesterday and received a bunch of great links to peruse this weekend.

Tanking would certainly make the game brand new for my paladin, that’s for sure.

Now to find that t-shirt.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Cosmo The Fallacy permalink
    March 20, 2009 11:04 pm

    Tankromah?

    šŸ˜€

  2. March 21, 2009 5:31 am

    Nice Post keep up the good work.

  3. March 21, 2009 2:59 pm

    I say go for it! I have a blast running through instances and raids with my guild as a prot pally. I switched over from ret at 40 and never looked back. From what I’ve seen, tanking is a lot less stressful than being a healer. I’ve played right next to a friend that is a holy priest (our main healer) and I really don’t envy his job. The main thing that you’ll need to do is to get geared and to start learning the pulls/fights from the tanking perspective.

    Gear-wise, you want to hit 540 defense as quickly as possible so you’re uncritable against raid bosses. This can be easily done with some crafted armor pieces. Here are some good links for tanking plate:
    http://maintankadin.failsafedesign.com/viewtopic.php?t=14979
    http://maintankadin.failsafedesign.com/viewtopic.php?t=16819&highlight=wotlk+gems+enchants
    This is also a good link for tanking chants/gems:
    http://www.failsafedesign.com/maintankadin/viewtopic.php?t=16737

    As far as talent specs go, 5/60/6 is the most widely used right now (http://www.wowhead.com/?talent=sVZaxVAbuMteIRGoxo). That’s the one that I use and I haven’t had any issues with it.

    The 96969 rotation is another good thing to read up on as well since it is, by far, the best tanking rotation out there.

    I primarily use these two websites for tanking info:
    http://maintankadin.failsafedesign.com/ (geared towards tanking pallies)
    http://www.tankspot.com/ (good info for all tanking classes, but directed primarily for prot warriors)

    Hopefully this helps. Let us know how it goes!

Trackbacks

  1. My Paladin t-shirt | World of Warcraft Wanderings

Leave a Reply

