Skip to content

World's Worst Mage Wednesday: AoE

April 1, 2009
tags: ,

Miss Leota (& Spike) attained level 68 last night! Which makes her able to head to Northrend, but I’m going to keep her in Nagrand until she finishes all the quests there. Akromah cut through Howling Fjord like a hot knife through butter in her level 70 Kara/ZA purples, but I’m not so sure Leota in her quest greens and blues will have such a good time. So I’m holding her back a level.

This is a little picture heavy – let’s jump for the rest!

Anyway, while she’s been toiling in Nagrand, I decided to practice some AoE (area of effect) and kiting tactics. Basically, she slows/roots a mob and unleashes frosty fury from a distance.

Unfortunately, I’m not very good at this. Here’s how it usually goes down. (I’d have recorded this for you, but I’m too cheap to buy a screen capture program. )

Step 1 - opening fire

Leota sees a mob of 2 or so beasties that she wants to kill at once. She opens with a frost bolt, then roots the mob with a Frost Nova.

Step 2 - Rooting & Blizzard

She backs up as far as she can go, then Blizzards, showering the trapped mob with ice shards from the skies! This also slows them down when they break out of Frost Nova.

Step 3 - reroot, back up some more, blizzard again

When they get close to her again, she hits Cone of Cold & Frost Novas again when it comes up, backing up all the while. If she still has mana, she Blizzards again.

Step 4 - certain death

Inevitably, I back up into something really bad. Like Ogres. Or the end of a cliff. Or an Alliance-controlled town. Because all of the situational awareness I developed with Akromah (Shade of Aran, Prince, Sartharion, Heigan) completely disappears when I log on Leota.

This is when I realize she’s completely out of mana and Leota dies horribly. I didn’t draw that. You get the picture.

This weekend a Dwarf mocked me as he watched it all go down. Hairy little stinkball.

I could probably stand to zoom my camera out all the way or maybe look at the battle from the side so I can readjust my position. Maybe I should blink forward through the rooted mob. Or respec fire. Any tips?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Marsella channeling Markuus permalink
    April 1, 2009 9:27 pm

    Those pictures made me chortle at my desk! If anyone else were around, I would have gotten weird looks!

    Yeah, Blink is a good idea for numerous reasons: you see where you’re going and what you’re getting yourself into, running forward is faster than running backward and gives you more time with the mobs rooted, and you don’t even have to turn around to Blizzard (targeting can be tough, but you don’t *actually* have to face a spot to Bliz it).

    Whatever you do, DON’T RESPEC FIRE!!! You think you die horribly and often now? Just imagine no Ice Shield and no quick cooldown root and no slows. Fire is the worst leveling spec.

  2. Erwin permalink
    April 2, 2009 2:48 am

    I dont have any tips, but youre drawings made me fall of my chair πŸ™‚

    Awesome !

    And spike is there to! Yay!

  3. April 3, 2009 7:54 am

    Highest I have ever leveled a mage was 27 so I’m no help, but I wanted to say I love your drawings! πŸ™‚

  4. Craig permalink
    April 3, 2009 8:40 am

    I hardly ever back up. I strafe to the side. This works well because you have the benefit of #1 keeping the target in front of you (if you adjust your camera angle as you strafe) and #2 you move much faster strafing than you do when backing up. You can literally run in circles around your mob and kite them so you are never backing into something you are unaware of. Good luck. AOE isn’t really all that easy. Definately takes some practice =). Another idea is that I will sometimes position my pet a bit away from me and let him start attacking first. Once the mobs are to him cast the Frost Nova ability from your pet then start Blizzard. That way you are already a good distance from the mob. Hope that helps!

  5. Justin permalink
    April 15, 2009 10:40 pm

    Okay, I had tendon repair surgery and have been laid up, so I’ve missed a couple weeks of your ingenious blog. while going back to see the hilarity that I had missed I saw your drawings, when I saw spike I laughed so hard that I had to crutch to the rest room.

Trackbacks

  1. A little bit of WOWku in my life… | Gaming Diva
  2. Akromah, illustrated! | World of Warcraft Wanderings
  3. A reformed Feral Mage | World of Warcraft Wanderings
  4. Ulduar, so far | World of Warcraft Wanderings

Leave a Reply

