Skip to content

Achievement Roll Call Monday!

April 6, 2009

Oh, what a weekend! Achievements to the left, Achievements to the right. Let’s cut to the chase…

Akromah, holy paladin and healing diva:

So much for the retired healer.

So much for the retired healer.

You should see the trunk space!

You should see the trunk space!

Akromah did two Heroic: Culling of Stratholme timed runs this weekend, resulting in a drake for her and a drake for a guild shaman. As a result, she gained the achievements for Culling of Time and Timear Foresees. That Timear Foresees is for regular dungeon achievements. CoT was the regular daily that day. Akro’s not much for daily dungeon runs, I guess.

She also achieved 500 Daily Quests Completed, which lets you know she needs money. She got a little bit spendy at the Auction House last week buying up some Jewelcrafting patterns. She went from 2,000 gold to 200 gold. Yeesh. After a bunch of dailies and a Naxx-10 run, she’s up to about 800 again. I’m trying to be frugal with the characters, since Leota’s going to need to train flying skill in 7 levels.

Finally, and I didn’t screenshot this because it was unexpected, Akromah received the Gonna Go when the Volcano Blows achievement. How? I was stupid and got hit with Sartharion’s fire wall, then ran into his tail, got swiped and died. First time I’ve died there in a long time. I was pretty bummed. It takes a LOT of stupidity on my part to get myself killed. So I only earned this achievement because I was dead. (eyeroll)

But now I’m humming Jimmy Buffett. Let’s move onto…

Leota, the frosty mage:

I'm coming out. I want the world to know. Got to let it show.

I'm coming out. I want the world to know. Got to let it show.

Wait…Leota flying in seven levels? Totally, because this weekend she reached Level 70 , baby! She reached that pinnacle by defeating the crazed Vrykul in Skorn, my favorite name for a town in this game. Skoooorrrrrrrrrn!

Boss dead, mage alive. Win-win.

Boss dead, mage alive. Win-win.

She also achieved Utgarde Keep – Regular Difficulty. Leota ran UK three times this weekend, coming in the middle of the pack, DPS-wise. She’s ready to move on from that dungeon.

I let her have some down time after reaching 70, so that she could train her professions, as well as train sword and dagger (seems like most end-game mages don’t carry staves). Her first order of business was
Grand Master in First Aid – with a healing class as my main, I appreciate characters who can bandage themselves in a pinch.

Also on the professions front, she became a Professional Grand Master in Tailoring. Shortly after this, Leota dumped her languishing Mining skill for Enchanting. Why? Pure laziness. I worked so hard on leveling her that the highest metal she could mine at 70 was Thorium. I didn’t want to send her back to Winterspring/Un’goro to level that up, so away it went. I think her Enchanting is at 78 now. Yay.

Enough about me (translation: I need to get back to work!) … how about you? Did you hit level 17? Down Sarth with 3 drakes standing? Down Sarth with 3 drakes dead? Watch others down Sarth as you lay dead on the ground? Big or small, Blizzard-sanctioned or not, shout your achievements below. Or drop a link to your own blog if you have one.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Cosmo the Fallacy permalink
    April 6, 2009 1:13 pm

    Grats on all the achievery! From what I’ve read online in several places, about the *only* way to get the “Gonna Go When The Volcano Blows” achievement is to die right away. In fact, the achievement strategy guides usually say to find a nice group (who doesn’t mind doing it one person down) and suicide it right off the bat.

    My first weekend back in the game after the month-long break and I got heroics, raids and regular five-mans done. But the most rewarding part was re-discovering how much fun my shadow priest, whom I haven’t really touched since the launch of Wrath, is to play. It will be fun to run her through Northrend and melt faces with reckless aplomb.

  2. April 6, 2009 2:24 pm

    Although not over the weekend, I did get Champion of the Frozen Wastes and Higher Learning this last week. 🙂

    That said, I also hit level 10 on my new paladin. Yes, I decided to roll another pally for fun and I’m excited as all get out!

  3. Brian Z. permalink
    April 6, 2009 3:16 pm

    Hit level 52. (Still can’t believe I made it over the hump of 50!) Crossed 400 gold for the first time ever. And ALMOST managed to solo Jintha’Alor, until Vile Priestess Hexx and her annoying polymorph stopped me dead and I needed to get the help of the Wifelock.

    Still, logged about 12 hrs of playtime this weekend (leveled a new BE Pally alt while watching the Phils LOSE) so I’d count it a great WoWeekend.

  4. The Warlock permalink*
    April 6, 2009 4:17 pm

    @Cosmo the Fallacy

    …until you have to constantly play the healy shaman to make up for our resident holy paladin playing her mage :p

  5. Cosmo the Fallacy permalink
    April 6, 2009 4:45 pm

    @The Warlock,

    Granted.

  6. 'Mage Jedi Master' permalink
    April 6, 2009 7:02 pm

    This weekend, I got a really pretty sword from Naxx because Akro keeps coming out of retirement. Thanks, baby mage!

  7. April 6, 2009 9:49 pm

    @ kyrilean & Brian Z.: Grats!! Those paladins will get you every single time!

    @Cosmo: Welcome back. You were very missed!

    @Mage Jedi Master: You’re very welcome!

  8. April 7, 2009 3:37 pm

    i got me a make 500 bandages achievement… because I’m a paladin and I need bandages to, you know, heal myself.

  9. Fennel permalink
    May 6, 2009 11:31 pm

    very nice and informative site. I really had a great time reading some of you post.. keep it up and looking forward to read more soon.

Leave a Reply

