Skip to content

Patch 3.1 is here. Hooray.

April 14, 2009

Grouchy Smurf © Peyo

Grouchy Smurf © Peyo


Oh, that’s alright, Blizz…pick MY TUESDAY OFF to drop one of the most-touted and largest content patches in the history of the game. I’m sure it’ll go off without a hitch.

I’ll be frank – I’m not real jazzed about the patch.

Key Points

Ulduar – New dungeon for the super hardcore. Hooray. Only a small percentage of my guild has taken down Malygos, and that’s been through PUGs. From everything I’ve read about this dungeon, we’re not ready and we’re not going to be ready.

In game Dual-spec – Good news for chronic respeccers. And hybrids like Akromah, who’ll be choosing a tank spec for her 2nd build.

Argent Tournament – The Rogue is jazzed about championing a city. But it’s most certainly going to be camped. I keep thinking about how crazy the Isle of Quel’Danas was when it first opened up. Every level 70 and their level 70 alt was there camping spawns.

30-minute Hearthstone cooldown – I guess it’s okay. But really, are we so spoiled that we can’t manage to get ourself from one place to another on our own anymore if the HS’s not up?

Affliction Changes – The Warlock (Affliction) now considers himself retired. With the loss of a DoT and others DoTs being mutually exclusive, he doesn’t see anything positive from this patch. He never thought the class was too tough or there were too many spells to remember.

Mana Regen Changes – Akromah’s big nerf came earlier with the Divine Plea change. But I’ll holler this from the highest mountain – my guild priests go oom often. I don’t know why, because I could never bring myself to be sneaky and run WWS during raids. This change is going to really hurt my guild. And not being able to toss Sacred Shield on more than 1 target at a time’s going to make it harder for Akro to heal 5-person content. Not impossible, just harder.

To me, it feels like these changes are geared toward the small-but-vocal population of fully-geared players who are complaining about stale content and the even smaller population of Arena players. But what’s done is done and we’ll adapt to the changes.

I’ll drop a link to the official patch notes and trailer once the WoW site comes back up. 😉

Until things calm down, Akromah and The Rogue will be cranking out some old-world dungeons. Yesterday we did Stratholme and Scholomance!

**

5:45pm: In case you’re stuck behind a firewall at work and need to see the Official Patch Notes for 3.1, here they are, hosted by a mild-mannered newspaper website.

The servers are still down. I’m cleaning out my fridge. Should I toss the 18-month-old can of Slim Fast?

7:20pm: I tossed the Slim Fast. Now Blizz is saying there will an update at 8pm EST. I think I’m going to end up sorting clothes and doing laundry.

8:17pm: They hope to have the servers up by 10 or 11 EST. I didn’t wanna play today anyway. (sniff)

9:15pm: I’m in! I’m 1000 gold lighter due to Duel Specialization. I picked a broke-ass tank build that I made up on the fly from WoWWiki and coolness of spell names. The Rogue is jousting in Icecrown. Life is good.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Cosmo the Fallacy permalink
    April 14, 2009 12:51 pm

    *sniff*

    Stupid Comcast. Stupid internets being down til tomorrow. Stupid 1000g Dual-spec fee, which I don’t have. Stupid Shadowform nerf. Stupid lack of Mage fixes. Stupid mana regen changes.

    *grumble*

    *sigh*

    Ok… now that I have THAT out of my system, I am excited for the new patch. If nothing else, the changes make the game new again. Many things we are used to are not going to work the same way that they have. Things that used to be powerful are no longer, while things that used to NOT be powerful will become essential. We are being forced to re-learn the game we know. I agree that far, far too many changes are being done with the goal of balancing the entire game for Arena players, but we casual PvE players (i.e. the VAST, silent majority) will learn the new rules of the game and find our way within it.

    WRT Ulduar: When have we EVER been prepared for new content? Preparedness is for sissies. A near-complete lack of preparedness has never stopped us before. 🙂

  2. Mike_NJ permalink
    April 14, 2009 12:51 pm

    The patch weighs in at 740MB (ouch) and I’m most looking forward to the Argent Tournament.

    Oh and Dual Specs, because Paladins just shouldn’t be limited.

  3. April 14, 2009 2:01 pm

    “are we so spoiled that we can’t manage to get ourself from one place to another on our own anymore if the HS’s not up?”

    ABSOLUTELY!!!! 😀

    It’ll be kind of nice. I absolutely plan everything I do (i.e. going to AH and to train) around my HS. 30 min will mean I don’t have to worry about it as much, but I’ll still plan. 🙂

  4. Markuus is apparently the new main permalink
    April 14, 2009 2:46 pm

    Of all the classes…my mage is looking forward to dual specs the most. “I’m frosty! I’m arcane! I’m frosty! I’m arcane!” Why, you may ask? Two reasons.
    Reason 1: Gluth, before and after. (Die! Die dog! Why won’t you die?!)

    Reason 2, a vignette play:

    Raid Leader: Ok, what happened? Why’d we wipe?
    DPS 1: Well, the meters all say DPS was fine. Not our fault!
    Healer 1: I just ran out of mana so fast! I couldn’t keep everyone up!
    Markuus: Worry not! I shall go frost and give the raid Replenishment! I will nobly sacrifice my own dps in order to allow the healers to continue doing their job more effectively longer!
    Fin.

    Also…the mana regen will *probably* not be an issue. They’re heavily upping all the in-combat regen abilities and giving a bunch of specs replenishment. Note, those fights wherein the healers are constantly running out of mana will actually be *helped* by these changes. The regen nerf is solely regen outside the casting six second rule. If a healer is running out of mana, they are not hitting the six second anyway, so there’s no change here, and actually a mana regen increase.

  5. The Warlock permalink*
    April 14, 2009 5:32 pm

    My combat dagger rogue is quite well-pleased with the changes that have been implemented. My affliction lock is, for lack of a better termed, retired due to Blizzard’s opinion of that spec. I’ll be taking him directly to Shadowfang Keep, the location that all of my retired characters go to when it’s time for the sun to set.

    I honestly couldn’t care less about Ulduar itself, mainly because I’ve only downed Naxx completely once. I would’ve been far more pleased if they’d focused on adding more 5-man dungeons, or adding a third difficulty tier to those already implemented (regular, heroic, and maybe a new “holy crap” setting) I am, however, looking forward to the Argent Tournament (though I’m waiting until tomorrow morning to even set foot in Icecrown). I’ll also be heading directly to Gnomer at my first possible convenience to get the two engineering pets. 🙂

    As an aside…maybe it’s time I go from The Warlock to The Rogue.

  6. cheng permalink
    April 14, 2009 8:32 pm

    I’m looking forward to this PVP and dual spec! zomg, i can’t believe that my warrior can now break Immune effects (Paladins). Also showing that they are buffing up the Arms tree, but also Nerfing Titans Grip in the Fury tree as well. I’m looking forward to this patch today, but stupid Blizzard is taking so long gosh!

  7. April 14, 2009 8:38 pm

    I never have any luck. Whenever I wanna play, something goes afoul with the servers. Oh well, I won’t whine to much.

    Looking forward to double specs… Could be fun. But, what was the price? That sounded a bit steep.

  8. Lurluna permalink
    April 15, 2009 2:32 pm

    I love your blogs. Just had to say that. I was just as frustrated waiting for WOW to come online. Then I was so excited when it did I ran out and got into combat while forgetting to reset talents. Yeah that was fun, I looked down and said OMG where did everything go. HAHA
    Dual spec amount is a littel steep at 1000 gold but I know my Pally will like it. My mage will have to wait a bit.

  9. Justin permalink
    April 15, 2009 9:01 pm

    I have never been a real big dailies guy, and I have only been playing for less than a year. I was so very proud of myself for being able to save a little more than 3000g. Over half way to that epic flight I’ve been dreaming about, then dual specs comes. I was a ret pally for so long that I had an amazing set of gear that got banked when my guild asked me to go holy. So I now am carrying both and can go from healing and buffing to killing and destroying, SWEET! I was so very excited that I got all my gear (both sets) regemmed and enchanted to optimize my new abilities. Then I looked down at my poor gold purse, 700g? I hate farming! Maybe buying gold isn’t such a bad thing.

Trackbacks

  1. Patch 3.1? « Casual Hardcore

Leave a Reply

