Skip to content

My hobo tank

April 16, 2009

My Spring Break – which until today was soaked by rain – has been underwhelming, WoW-wise. I found myself going out more than staying in, which is not-so-bad, right?

The biggest news, of course, was 3.1, which snarled my server until late Tuesday night, and caused a lot of disconnection issues yesterday.

(note to self: Blogging is difficult with a Cocker Spaniel on one’s lap. Ollie’s become quite attached to me this week.)

The first thing I did on Tuesday night was pony up the 1,000 gold (/cry) to learn Dual Specialization on Akromah. On her holy spec, she took the 5 points in Prot that would have gone to Kings and dropped them into Divinity. I’d have loved more Ret tree love for her, but how can I, in good conscience, turn down an additional 5% in healing? I can’t. End of story.

Her second build is (“Go Ret!” the audience hollers. “You’ll love the DPS!”) Protection. The decision was easy once I took inventory of the plate gear she’s acquired thanks to warriors and DKs passing on them.

Thane’s Tainted Greathelm
Amulet of Autopsy
Pauldrons of the Colossus
Bindings of Dark Will
Gauntlets of the Master
Legplates of Inescapable Death
Deflection Band
Royal Crest of Lordaeron
Heroes’ Redemption Breastplate – purchased with badges
Libram of Obstruction – purchased with badges

And from 2 heroic runs today I got:
Cloudstrider’s Waraxe (Occulus)
Lavanthor’s Talisman (Violet Hold)

(note to self: Geez, this dog needs a bath)

I know there are two flavors of tank, so-to-speak, avoidance and mitigation. I think my armor’s a mix of the two. You’ll notice I’m missing boots, which adds to my hobo-like charm*.

True story: She's at Crusader's Pinnacle (she helped build it, you know) and in an attempt to get a good shot, I accidentally ran her off of the cliff and she died. I'm going to make a seriously great tank. I can feel it.

True story: She's at Crusader's Pinnacle (she helped build it, you know) and in an attempt to get a good shot, I accidentally ran her off of the cliff and she died. I'm going to make a seriously great tank. I can feel it.

I’ve been reading links given to through my various pleas on twitter. I’ve also found some great sites, such as:

..which are all helping. I’m just getting caught up in the obscene amounts of math flung around. You tanks, you are huge with math! But I know I need to start with defense.

(note to self: Put dog on a diet.)

I’m not ready to take her out tanking yet, as I’m still puttering around with glyphs and gems. But I’m getting there.

Any dual-specced folks out there? Have you jumped right into the new spec waters yet or are you being chicken cautious like me?

*Disclaimer: Kimberly does not mean to insult hobos, the hobo culture, or hobophiles. She is not hobophobic.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2009 7:51 pm

    Hey, at least you’ve got Gnomer handled.

    Right?

  2. Erwin permalink
    April 17, 2009 4:05 am

    Did you paint your toe nails? 🙂

  3. Cosmo the Fallacy permalink
    April 17, 2009 6:17 pm

    I’ll have to check my (purportedly) male Blood Elf for toenail polish this evening. I give it even odds that he will.

  4. The Warlock permalink*
    April 17, 2009 8:15 pm

    ….
    ….
    Waitaminute.

    Blood elf….males?

    Is this something new in the 3.1 patch? The secret of Ulduar was that there is some forgotten sub-species of blood elf?

Leave a Reply

