Skip to content

It's scary out front.

April 17, 2009

I look stupid.

I look stupid.

I was minding my own business, trying to get into the Argent Tournament when a whisper came through from a guildmate.

Shaman: “Would you like to tank?”
Me: “HA! No! I’m not gemmed or glyphed. But thanks!”
Shaman: “It’ll be a regular instance and we’ll go easy on you.”
Me: “I still have a healy belt and boots!”

(I get invited to the group)

Ugh. Anyway, I suited up and get myself to Gun’Drak, where a shaman, The Rogue, a shadow priest and a hunter awaited. They all 80, all guildmates, and were excited to see me tank. I was about to die from nerves.

On a second monitor, I had the 9-6-9-6-9 rotation up. I put my tanky abilities onto a new spellbar and in we went.

And I stood there, in between my team and the mobs. Frozen.

In my usual healy role, I found myself paying more attention to the members of the party than the mobs. Now, it was my job to make sure the mobs stayed on me and didn’t touch my party. And I found that I really don’t know how these boss fights operate — how the adds come, where to position the boss, etc.

It’s scary out front.

After a little bit of gentle coaxing, I tossed my Avenger’s Shield at the mob and we had at it.

And it went pretty well. The group, who could have stolen aggro over and over again, were very well-behaved. I kept calm, too. And of course we made it through the instance, since we were all supremely overgeared.

It went so well that we ran Halls of Stone (regular) after that.

After the runs, I bought the Sabatons of Draconic Vigor and Cloak of Peaceful Resolutions from the Wyrmrest and Waistguard of the Risen Knight
from an enterprising soul at the Auction House.

What I learned:

  • I need to figure out a way to pull a straggler back into my consecrate. There has to be a better way than targeting the person it’s attacking and casting Righteous Defense.
  • I need to study some Tanking videos to understand how bosses move and what they pull. I’m used to looking at the tank’s head. Now that I’m the tank…it’s a whole new ballgame.
  • In between runs, I realized that I never trained my Holy Shield nor my Avenger’s Shield past level 1. Ha!
  • Every paladin guide says I need to cast Seal of Vengeance on myself. I went crazy looking for this spell. I thought I didn’t put it on my spellbar. I thought I didn’t train it and went back to Silvermoon. Ready for this? If you are a Blood Elf Paladin, your Seal of Vengeance is called Seal of Corruption. Seal of Vengeance is Alliance only.

One more time for the hapless Horde Paladin Tanks:

Horde paladins do not have Seal of Vengeance. We have Seal of Corruption.

Oh yeah, I’m going to make a great tank. (eyeroll)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2009 9:06 pm

    I was going to post my macro, then found this.

    From WowWiki:

    “As of 2.4, Righteous Defense can also be cast on an enemy mob, much like the Warrior’s Taunt ability. Its behavior when used in this way seems to be much like its behavior if cast on a party member. If the enemy that is taunted is attacking another player, 2 more enemies that may be attacking that player will also be taunted.”

    So, you can just target the mob now, or the player, whichever is easier.

  2. Brian Z. permalink
    April 17, 2009 10:31 pm

    969WTF? Okay, my newest alt is a BE pally I WAS planning to go the tankadin route with (since he’ll be mostly grouped). But after getting wind here and elsewhere of the math and apparent l33t h4ck1ng 5k1llz required to tank top level content, I’m starting to question the future, not only of my nascent tankadin, but of my MAIN (the warrior) as well! Yikes-a-momma…

  3. April 18, 2009 8:10 am

    Tanking is a lot of fun. I’ve been having a blast with my Druid tank. I read a lot about tanking, most of the information was from the end-game perspective, which I’m not but the best information came from going out there and actually tanking instances. Yep, as tank many will expect you to lead. It can be exciting and intimidating too, but it’s exhilarating.

  4. April 18, 2009 2:10 pm

    Ah yes tanking… I remember back on my main Warrior who was Protect Spec… As i got closer to 80 the less and less people wanted me in a party, all they wanted was fury spec to keep aggro… Which I never understood because I felt Fury Spec died too easily and healers are wishy washy when it comes to keeping up on healing a warrior keeping aggro. But protect spec, when I run an instance I still kept aggro (thanks to a couple very nice taunts) and I rarely died… stupid people not liking Protect Warriors, We’re the bastard children of WoW.

  5. April 18, 2009 10:15 pm

    To handle stragglers, I put “Hand of Reckoning” on one of my keybinds. This spell is our single-target taunt and supplements “Righteous Defense.” If I lose aggro on a mob, I just target that mob and hit the keybind and it comes right back to me.

  6. April 18, 2009 11:50 pm

    Can I tell you how much I love the WoW blog community?

    @Samodean – Duly noted. Will keybind.

    @BrianZ – The numbers have to do with the cooldowns of spells. Considering the global cooldown on a spell we cast is 1.5 seconds, if I cast a 9 second spell, after the 1.5 second cooldown, a 6 second spell and the next 1.5 second cooldown another that 9 second cooldown spell will be ready to cast again. Those 9s and 6s and 3s all fit together nicely like puzzle pieces. When I don’t start crying and faceroll the keyboard, that is.

    @Moondancer – it was a very heady experience. I’m not used to leading at all and I think there lies some of my discomfort

    @Marty – Your server must have been insane. My favorite type of tank to heal EVER is a prot warrior. You guys take damage steadily and predictably. You need to roll Horde, level to 80 on my server and we’ll happily have you.

    @Kikuzushi – Thank you! I’ll try that out. Now that Akromah’s gemmed and glyphed and her defense is at 539 (that elusive 540 will probably come with a gear upgrade) I want to try tanking some of the higher-level Northrend regulars. Maybe I’ll bind it to the 0 key – as in 0 crap, something’s got away!

  7. Marrisol permalink
    May 4, 2009 2:10 pm

    So, you’ve probably almost certainly seen this already, but Big Bear Butt has a “new tank” post up: http://thebigbearbutt.com/2009/04/30/tips-for-the-new-tank/

Leave a Reply

