Skip to content

Achievement Roll Call!

April 20, 2009

Vacations are funny for me in that I set dozens and dozens of goals for myself and achieve very few. I took last week off, and looked forward to 9 days of productivity. My World of Warcraft goals were:

  • Do most of the Old World Dungeons with Akromah
  • Get Leota up to level 75
  • Get Leota’s enchanting up to Wrath level.
  • Catch up on my WoW Blog reading

Let’s take a look at the tote board:

Woeful!

Woeful!

Unfortunately, the appearance of 3.1 on the scene Tuesday threw a wrench into the works. We were offline most of Tuesday. I spent the day out on Wednesday, and on my server Northrend was incredibly unstable.

Let’s see. Akro did get to Scholomance, Stratholme and Zul’Gurub. ZG was part of our guild festival day on Saturday though, so we ran it in only our tabards, white-level weapons and whatever loot we picked up along the way. Akro finished the run in a pair of plate pants, a tabard, and a smile.

Akro picked up her dual-specialization on Tuesday, and Argent Aspiration (a throwaway achievement, really) on Thursday.

Most importantly – and ironically what doesn’t merit an achievement – was Akro discovering Ulduar yesterday and our guild taking down Flame Leviathan.

With all of the dual-spec and Ulduar fuss, Leota the World’s Worst Mage didn’t get much play. She bagged Wolvar pups 5 days in a row for the daily achievement, bought up all of her bank slots (enchanting…ugh) and was taken to Karazhan where she received the Pantaloons of Repentance and the Tirisfal Wand of Ascendancy and Zul’Aman, where Zul’Jin dropped the Blade of Twisted Visions. These pieces’ll keep her until at least level 75. Because she’s still at level 72. (sigh)

And I fell even further behind in my WoW blog reading than usual. Again, thanks to 3.1.

But enough about me, how about you? Did you get to experience Ulduar? Did you finally make it to Hellfire Peninsula? Did you buy your first mount? Your tenth? Big or small, Blizz-sanctioned or not, share your accomplishments below!

As for me, it’s time to go back to my overstuffed email box and my Thermos full of rapidly-cooling coffee.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Rob permalink
    April 20, 2009 5:22 pm

    Grats on the Acheesements – what is ‘Lockdown!’ ?

    I dinged 80 with my Tauren DK, soloed Ramparts, Blood Furnace, and Auchenai crypts – and spent entirely too much time posting items to AH. Still waiting for the Spiked Titanseel Helm – at 950G it’s a steal!

    -For the Horde!

    • April 20, 2009 5:27 pm

      Grats on 80!

      I forgot all about “Lockdown!” Violet Hold has 3 bosses to it. Cyanigosa the dragon is the last one, but the other 2 are random spawns. When you defeat all of them that could spawn, you get Lockdown!

  2. Justin permalink
    April 20, 2009 7:24 pm

    Congrats on the Leviathan kill and on the 100 achievment points! Seems like you were pretty productive to me.
    Last night my raiding guild downed Razorscale! That combined with killing Leviathan, and Deconstructor put us as the number one horde raiding guild on our server. Seeing how the guild is less than 6 months old this is very exciting for me. Going from a casual guild of friends to a raiding guild, which at first felt like a huge betrayal on my part, was scary at first but now I feel like I’ve actually accomplished something spectacular. I was most surprised to get so many tells from friends in my first guild congatulating us on our accomplishment. I am constantly in awe of how much this online community has shown itself to be more supportive and involved than some RL communities.

  3. Cosmo the Fallacy permalink
    April 20, 2009 8:06 pm

    This weekend, I helped a guildie move some Alliance-only cooking recipes from his Alliance character to his Horde character. This required standing around in Booty Bay and constantly refreshing the cross-faction Auction House. I noticed several Alliance-only pets available. I failed my Will-save and now Fallacy has the [Plenty of Pets] achievement. And lots of cats. Oh yeah… we also took Flame Leviathan down. With lots of cats wandering about.

    @Justin, RE: “Going from a casual guild of friends to a raiding guild, which at first felt like a huge betrayal on my part, was scary at first but now I feel like I’ve actually accomplished something spectacular.”

    …This was my guild about two years ago. 🙂 And, you know what? Despite a few forays into stereotypical guild drama, I *still* feel like we’ve accomplished something spectacular.

Leave a Reply

