Skip to content

The mace matches the shield

April 21, 2009

Firstly, server downtime has been increased by 2 hours – they’re now forecasting 4pm EDT as go time. I’m hoping whatever they do adds stability – I was disconnected 4x last night. It made it much longer to do my daily quests, as the disconnects made it so Akromah had to do Kor’kron Air Assault quest three times to get it done. Blah!

But forget all of that, and even all of that Ulduar place. Because…

Reminds me of a Civil War era daguerreotype. Except for the animated corpses, elves and trolls. Cows? Sure.

Reminds me of a Civil War era daguerreotype. Except for the animated corpses, elves and trolls. Cows? Sure.

WE TOOK DOWN SAPPHIRON AND KEL’THUZAD!!!

Longtime readers will know that we’re not a cutting-edge guild. We’re a bunch of people who found each other online and happen to enjoy each others’ company. The success of our runs hinges on who can be online and what classes they want to play. This is my second time downing KT. For some of the folks in the shot, this was their first downing of KT.

And for reasons I won’t go into, this time was 100x more satisfying than the first.

Guild Drama cat courtesy of WaffleFly and icanhazcheezburger.com

Guild Drama cat courtesy of WaffleFly and icanhazcheezburger.com

Our party consisted of: 2 Death Knights, 3 Shaman, 2 Rogues, 1 Priest, 1 Hunter and yours truly, the Holy Paladin. The resto shammy, priest and I healed with the help of anyone who could drop a totem, bandage themselves or drink a potion. It was a heck of a group effort. I think we went 3 or 4 times on Sapph and 3 times for KT.

Observations:

  • On one of the Sapphiron attempts I beaconed myself so I wouldn’t have to move out of the chill effect while healing the MT. Beacon healed me through it okay, but I didn’t like how it felt. Turns out, it was fine for me to drop a Holy Light and take the extra time to move out.
  • My mana ran low only once, on one of the KT wipes where we lost people early on KT and the fight went long. Otherwise, I think I have enough tricks and trinkets to keep me full.
  • Kel’thuzad is such a wimp compared to Sapphiron. The damage the tank was taking was much more consistent with KT and easier to predict.
  • On our successful downing of KT, the MT’s health was dropping frequently at the end of the fight, despite my healbombs. So I tried Hand of Sacrifice on the tank, which takes 30% of the damage and shuffles it to me. OW! OW! Bad idea. I hit a HP and lived through it, but I won’t be doing that again. Too scary for me and those who saw me start to go down.
  • On that last try, our MT died at the very end when KT was just about down. The rest of us were so desperate to finish that we swarmed KT with everything we had left. I ended up dead, but KT was dead next to me too! IT was one of those really awesome fight endings.
  • Playing ’til midnight on a worknight isn’t fun the next morning. Ugh.

Loot?
And here’s the good. KT dropped the Priest/Paladin/Warlock T7 headpiece, Hammer of the Astral Plane (!!!) and Gem of Imprisoned Vassals.

The priest and I rolled on the helm…and I won! Cheers all around, as the Heroes’ Redemption Headpiece is slightly better than my old helm was, and with added mp5, which will really help now. I also have the 2-piece set bonus, which gives me 10% chance to crit my Holy Shock. And this pally LOVES her crits.

Then, the hammer. I wasn’t going to roll. I was going to walk away with my pretty new helmet and let the shammies and priest duke it out. But I was urged to roll, as the hammer was an upgrade to my post-nerf Titansteel Guardian and pretty much the Best-In-Slot item for a Holy Pally who most likely will never see KT on Heroic. So I rolled. And won!

The mace matches the shield.

The mace matches the shield.

Can I say that again? THE MACE MATCHES THE SHIELD. So today, when the waves of guilt roll over me for rolling on 2 KT purples I’m going to keep repeating…the mace matches the shield.

(Meanwhile, Leota grumbles as she’s left conjuring sno-cones for the kids in the Shattrath orphanage.)

The mace matches the shield…

The mace matches the shield…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Justin permalink
    April 21, 2009 3:27 pm

    Grats! So pretty…….

  2. Cosmo the Fallacy permalink
    April 21, 2009 3:28 pm

    I was so glad you got that mace. Upgrading healers upgrades the entire guild.

  3. April 22, 2009 8:49 am

    Gratz! Cutting edge guild or not it’s still an achievement the first few times!

    And from one holy pally to another…I’ll never match…/sigh. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. True paladin confessions | World of Warcraft Wanderings
  2. My Relics of Ulduar | World of Warcraft Wanderings

Leave a Reply

