Skip to content

Casual musings on 3.1 – Mana regeneration

April 23, 2009
tags: ,

This new content patch isn’t something I can take in and process in one day. The patch notes have the details, but with my playstyle it usually takes me a while to see how I’m affected by the changes. I’ll write about these topics as they come along.

So let’s put Guild Drama Cat back into his carrier and chat about Mana regeneration.

Newbie info: Mana is the fuel casters use to cast their spells. Each spell costs mana. When you’re out of mana (oom for short) you can’t cast. You can drink water to bring it back faster, you can cast spells or activate trinkets to make it come back faster, or it can come back – or regenerate – on its own.

And this is from the official patch notes:

Mana Regeneration: The amount of mana regeneration derived from intellect and spirit has been reduced by 40%; however, talents that allow for mana regeneration while in combat have been increased. As a result, in-combat regeneration for classes with those talents will stay the same, while out-of-combat regeneration will be lower.

When I’m on Akromah, I don’t really notice my own mana regeneration when I’m in combat, because I have other things to worry about. Like making sure my tank stays up. Plus, I have Divine Plea & my Sapphire Owl, and whenever I crit a spell, I have a chance of getting more mana back.

However, when she’s just tooling around Dal and her mana bar is at 25%, and when I look at it five minutes later and it’s only hovering at 40%, then I notice. I feel naked running around Dal with 25% mana but darn if I’m going to DRINK just to hang around town.

I ran a few heroics and healed the Naxx-10 Arachnid Quarter, Sapphiron and Kel’thuzad since the mana nerf, but in combat I didn’t feel as if I was in danger of running out of mana. The only time I felt it was when we lost DPSers early in the fights and the fights went long.

Out of combat, however, is horrible. I thought I understood what Blizzard was trying to do – make us be more judicious with our heals so we don’t run out of mana while in combat.

But the end result – at least for my holy paladin – is that I have to drink after boss fights and sometimes trash pulls, which slows down the group considerably. Especially when you’re in a 5-person situation where people are used to just charging through. Or Violet Hold & Timed Culling of Stratholme, when a rez spell can put you behind the 8-ball and you can’t control how much time you have before the next mob is pulled. The healer is then the bad guy in that situation, holding the rest of the party back.

Currently, Black Jelly – the new 3.1 crafted food – restores 15,000 mana over 30 seconds. That doesn’t even refill Akro’s mana pool when she’s unbuffed. The very least they could do is create food that’ll fill up 3.3% of your mana pool every second for 30 seconds. That way we’re forced to take the drinking break, but won’t have to drink twice (and waste a to top off.

And I sound like a broken record, but I feel that the adjustments Blizzard makes to make the game harder for the small-but-vocal majority (the “lolNaxx” crew) hurts the fun and the enjoyment of the game for people like me. Not everyone’s a Best-in-Slot geared level 80 raider of 25-person content. And guess what? In less than a week, a few guilds have already beaten Ulduar.

I’m not asking for the best gear in the game to be handed to me on a silver platter. I’m not asking that the game be dumbed down. I’m just asking that people who prefer smaller groups not penalized just to make the game harder for the darlings of Blizzard.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. diatra permalink
    April 23, 2009 9:33 pm

    My husband has been playing this game for years now – it has drove a wedge right in between us. I don’t like this game, when he plays it, I get mad at him. My brother also plays and he is in his own WOW world [ its insane and I hate it.

    • April 24, 2009 8:27 am

      Awww…I’m sorry to hear that. I think WoW is just like any other hobby – it’s excellent for filling up time here and there in one’s real life.

      But like any other hobby (fishing, scrapbooking, The Eagles) you can get carried away with it. I’ve certainly known a few people who could stand for their modem lines to be out of commission for a week so they could, you know…talk to their families.

      I’m divorced, myself, for reasons bigger than WoW so it’d be hard to dole out relationship advice. The dork in me says to sign up for a trial account and ask your brother to show you around. But most likely you’ve tried the game and hated it. And that’s okay.

      Anyway, thanks for your comment, thanks for reading, and I hope it all turns out alright.

  2. Cosmo the Fallacy permalink
    April 24, 2009 4:57 pm

    I think the mana regen change isn’t so much for the lolNaxx people (though it may be), but rather another example of the Blizzard’s wrongheaded desire to balance all classes for arena content. I believe that this, and the initial delay to drinking mana regen that they instituted in 2.8, is meant to make it harder for healers to stealth out of combat and drink to fill up their mana bar quickly during an arena.

    I am *really* against these PvP (player verses player) changes effecting us who mainly only do PvE (player verses environment) content. It has been a constant stream of bad news for us healers, as well as for the core damage dealing classes: Mages, Rogues and Warlocks. It has been GREAT for hybrid classes, which I play, but I would welcome the return of Mages and rogues to the top of the damage meters, even if it meant that my shaman would not be able to deal as much damage or heal as effectively. The whole point of a hybrid class, IMO, is that I can heal AND deal damage.

    I think they should make these type of changes conditional upon whether you are in a PvP or PvE environment. Decrease out of combat mana regen in arenas and battlegrounds. Decrease damage and inter-class buff synergy only verses targets which are other players. But keep your hands off me in my raids and instances, thankyouverymuch!

    [/rant] 🙂

    @diatra,

    That genuinely sucks.

Trackbacks

  1. WoW Blog: World of Warcraft Wanderings « World of Warcraft

Leave a Reply

