Skip to content

We're nicer than those Xbox people

May 12, 2009

(except when we’re not)

Welcome! I’m Kim, a mild-mannered Courier-Post employee by day and a mace-swinging, Light-slinging paladin by night. You may have stumbled across my World of Warcraft blog by way of today’s story in the Courier-Post, Den pals: Gamers make friends – and frenemies – from the comfort of home.

Our game is a bit different than the Xbox games you’ve read about. World of Warcraft isn’t finite like a hockey game where after the game is done, you start over with a clean scoreboard and switch out whom you’re playing against. There are over 10,000 people on my server, and most of them aren’t going away anytime soon.

That permanence means the person you talk trash to and insult today could be standing there laughing at you – AND NOT HELPING YOU – as you get trampled by an angry army of orcs tomorrow. So with the exception of the trash talking 12 year olds, it behooves us ALL to be civil.

I’ve been very fortunate in that I’ve made far more friends than enemies in this game. The guild (please don’t ever call us “Den Pals”) that I’m a member of has a very diverse group of players. We have students and teachers, men and women, singles and couples, military, moms & musicians, just to name a few. My oldest friend and his lovely wife are in our guild too!

A good guild can give a very Cheers-like atmosphere to the game. It’s nice to have a group of people happy to see you, whether it’s in a bar, a bowling alley or a world filled with zombies and dragons.

Don’t get me wrong — there are plenty of boneheads in WoW spouting off expletives and being crude. Most of them are young boys trying to act bigger than they are.

But like the slob outside of Wawa yelling “E-A-G-L-E-S! EAGLES!” (Dude. Seriously. It’s May. Stop it already.), I just roll my eyes and keep on doing my thing.

***
I blog here 4 or so times a week about this silly game I play. I’m not the best player, but I have a heck of a lot of fun. If you’re new and interested in learning more about the blog, I recommend:

Thanks for stopping by! Safe travels!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

