Skip to content

Heroic Loken? Down!

May 13, 2009

No, I do not work for Victoria's Secret.

No, I do not work for Victoria's Secret.

Guild: Lets go do Heroic Halls of Lightning.
Guild: I need Loken dead for a quest.
[Akromah logs out]
[Leota logs in]
Guild: Go get Akro to heal HoL.
Leota: Akro hates HoL. You need a healer with group heals or HoTs.
Guild: (shadow priest) I can heal it…I suppose.
Guild: (mage) I guess I can switch out and heal it.
Leota: Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr
[Leota logs out]
[Akromah logs in]
Akromah: Hate you all.
Guild: Yay!

So off we went: Death Knight tank, (The) Rogue, Hunter, Shadow Priest and yours truly, the Holy Paladin. I don’t think I spoke more than 2 minutes total the whole run…just kept focused on not dying and not getting anyone else dead. Those slag things were a challenge for me. It was hard to keep everyone in range and line of sight once we hit the stairs.

Then we got to Loken. The tank, one of those invincible and confident DKs who can tank, DPS, and probably make a nice creme brulee at the same time started the fight while I was still wondering how we were going to do it. Last I heard, the Hunter put up nature resist and asked the Shadow Priest to toss some Prayers of something.

We all stayed in during Lightning Nova. I beaconed the Tank and spammed Flash of Light and Holy Shock on the rest of the group.

Stupid dead Loken and his stupid giant foot. Is that a dinosaur?

Stupid dead Loken and his stupid giant foot. Is that a dinosaur?

And in less than two minutes, (57 seconds, actually) he was down. Easy as pie. We congratulated each other, I got some nice whispers and everyone went on their merry way.

Except me. I sat in the snow outside the instance for 15 minutes going through my combat log and Recount to see where the priest’s Prayers of whatever came in and how much they healed for.

And you know what? I couldn’t find a freaking Prayer in the log. A tiny amount of healing was done by Vampiric Embrace. I think the whole priest talk was a nasty “Keep pedaling, Akro…we won’t let go of the bike!” ruse to get me through.

I’m glad they let go of the bike.

***
(Programming note: World’s Worst Mage Wednesday returns next Wednesday)

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Cosmo the Fallacy permalink
    May 13, 2009 12:16 pm

    🙂

  2. Cosmo the Fallacy permalink
    May 13, 2009 12:27 pm

    Also…

    That is a *great* picture of Slappy the dinosaur saying “Hi!” for the camera! He’s such a ham.

  3. May 13, 2009 1:03 pm

    Grats on the win and the achievement. For me, Oculus was the run I never wanted to go to because our first couple runs for so painful and I couldn’t figure out how the amber dragon works.

  4. Derek permalink
    May 13, 2009 2:40 pm

    Congrats

  5. May 13, 2009 4:19 pm

    @Cosmo – My wee alliance priest was repeatedly mauled by Devilsaurs in Un’goro many years ago. When I see Slappy, I still get a scare.

    @Derek – thanks!

    @Jong – I take a sick pleasure in healing Oculus. It’s such a clusterf of activity. But I’m always on the green dragon – they make me do what I know.

  6. Khaelie permalink
    May 13, 2009 6:42 pm

    Grats on that! I dont have a pally, but healing with my shammy in there is not an easy feat either. i think it has something to do with my lack of mobility… i’m with Jong on the Occulus though… that place was painful the first few times!

  7. May 22, 2009 2:04 pm

    Gratz! Pally healing that even with a good group is still nerve wracking.

  8. June 14, 2009 11:55 pm

    akromah? akroma? play mtg huh

    • June 15, 2009 8:24 am

      Good catch! I’ve never played MTG, but after seeing some of the spells Akro would be learning, I wanted some sort of Angel/Wrath name. Googling all of that kept bringing up the Akroma cards and I thought it was a pretty good fit.

      Of course, that version was taken already, so I tacked an “h” onto the end and my paladin was born.

      The Warlock’s name is Sengir – so it’s sort of matchy matchy in that sickeningly cute way.

Leave a Reply

