Skip to content

WoW IRL

May 20, 2009

(that IRL is “In Real Life”)

We are back from our magical (and too short) Walt Disney World Vacation. I hope that you enjoyed Akromah and Embalmo’s vacation shots. We had a lot of fun picking out our tourist outfits and zipping around the world to find those places.

At the Lego store in Downtown Disney, there was a bin full of foam weaponry and shields. Of course, we couldn’t resist.

The shield dropped from Clarabelle Cow.

The shield dropped from Clarabelle Cow.

Fan of Knives in Small World is not pretty.

Fan of Knives in 'Small World' is not pretty.

In general, WoW players don’t talk about our hobby much to people outside of WoW. For 10-plus million people, we’re pretty shy. Larísa at The Pink Pigtail Inn explains why much better than I could.

As I brandished my shield in the Lego store, I jokingly cried, “For the Horde!” The Rogue and I laughed. And that moment, a nearby man whipped his head around toward us. He was wearing a huge grin.

And we discovered one of us in a most unexpected place.

I did dailies with Akromah yesterday, so World’s Worst Mage Wednesday will return next week.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2009 7:50 pm

    Awesome! Glad you guys had fun and you were right near where Sideshow proposed to me … omg 5 years ago! (Next to the leggo dragon outside.. if it’s still there).

    I love discovering other WoW players in public… overhearing bits of WoW talk and exchanging knowing and secretive looks and smiles. 😀

  2. John permalink
    May 21, 2009 2:19 pm

    The vaca pics are great! Just one thing though, You look like someone who is ready to slay the Alliance, and The Rogue looks like he wants to be slayed by the Alliance. lol. Looks like he had a long day.

    • May 22, 2009 12:31 pm

      @Syrana – Oh that’s so sweet! Where were you when the question was popped?

      @John – I was sure he had an angry roguey face on when I took the shot. I think I was a second too early or a second too late. 😉

  3. May 22, 2009 1:49 pm

    LOL! I was going to say he looks like he’s thinking “OMG people are staring!”

  4. May 22, 2009 6:34 pm

    I was near the railing by the water.. on the Leggo Dragon’s lefthand side. 😀

Leave a Reply

