Skip to content

All my Sons

May 28, 2009

(photo of shirt by frecuencia on sxc.hu; customization by me!)

(photo of shirt by frecuencia on sxc.hu; customization by me!)

A few months back, I decided to pretend that Akromah was a real raid healer and work up my reputation with the Sons of Hodir so that I can get her Greater Inscription of the Storm shoulder enchant. That phase lasted about as long as it took me to get to neutral and open up the dailies. Then I grew sick of the Sons and decided to navel-gaze in Dalaran or whine about mana.

A few weeks ago I started getting into the Argent Tournament (because clearly I hate myself) and one day while blowing up ancient stones for my goblin employers, I realized, “Hey…those Hodir kids are out here. Maybe I should swing by.”

So I flew to Dun Niffelem and a love affair was born.

I love those dailies. I love them to pieces and the thought of flying to Dun Sniffle/Dun Wiffleball (as I affectionately call the town) makes me smile. I love stalking and killing blobs of oil. I love following the ADD ghost dogs around until they uncover the stealthed dwarves. I love releasing the tortured spirits of the Niffelem Forefathers and Restless Frostborn.

And the farming…I can sit for hours killing Icebound Revenents for the Relics of Ulduar and the goodies acquired from mining their corpses.

I’m a sick girl, I know. But the truth is I love daily quests that involve heaps of slaughter. (See: Quel’danas, Isle of)

The only quest I skip is Thrusting Hodir’s Spear (I dislike the wink/nudge quality of the quest names) because I’m just tired of mastering new ways of vehicle combat. The jousting done me in.

Every day I take the gold I’ve acquired from the Argent and Hodir dailies and buy as many Relics as I can from the AH. With those purchases I’m moving pretty quickly for someone who does nothing quickly at all.

Akromah's game face

Akromah's game face

Akromah is currently 8125/21000 toward exalted with the Sons. And while I’ll be happy to become Exalted and get both the enchant and the JC pattern for Smooth Autumn’s Glow, I’m equally excited to be done so I can farm those Relics for a tidy profit and make my gold back!

And yes, I farm as Holy. I’m not as quick as others, but with a Seal of Wisdom and a Judgment of Light, I have endurance, baby.

NB: I’m an East Coaster on a West Coast server. So when I get home from work these areas aren’t so populated yet. Which may contribute to my fondness for the quests.

What daily quests make you smile?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Cosmo the Fallacy permalink
    May 28, 2009 3:07 pm

    Akro looks like she preparing to form Voltron in that picture.

  2. Brian Z. permalink
    May 29, 2009 12:42 pm

    Alas, I still wouldn’t know a daily quest if it bit me on the decomposing butt. I suspect, though, that reading your description of the Dun Sniffleball dailies is at least as entertaining (if not more so) than the quests themselves.

    Unless one REALLY loves the slaughter. 😉

  3. May 29, 2009 8:48 pm

    I actually like the Argent Tournament dailies. I used to love the Isle and Ogri’la dailies.

    I don’t much care for the Sons of Hodir ones. I hate the spear one and just don’t bother with it either.

  4. Khaelie permalink
    May 31, 2009 9:12 am

    you know you would get a LOT more relics if you farmed HoL right??

    as far as the dailies go… i didnt mind the Hodir ones, and i even did the spear one every day after i figured out how to do it. it gives you 500 rep so if you want to get the grind over with it is not the one to skip.

    I really enjoy the tournement dailies. this also took some getting used to because when they started i could not joust to save my life. i even put them on hold for like 3 weeks because i just could not joust. now i am on the last faction for the alliance and only have 3 more days of that. I also enjoy the Skyguard dailies back in Outland. Since my current main used to be my alt, she never really did those and has been going back to get the rep up for the mounts. I have even gotten the achievement for bombing the eggs in 2 minutes, and i was about 5 seconds late on the other bombing achievement, but i hope to get that one soon.

    • June 1, 2009 8:17 am

      @Cosmo: I can’t post a picture in the comment, but go here: http://www.ladygypsy.net/wow/voltron.jpg

      @BrianZ: Miss seeing you guys in the game!

      @Syrana: I used to do the Island dailies like it was my job. Even as holy I’d knock it all out in less than an hour.

      @Khaelie: (whines) But I hate HoL! But you’re right. Akromah’s now exalted with the Sons (woot!) but I’m going to do HoL more with Leota.

      Funny enough, Leota got the “invitation” to attend the tournament this weekend. Since I joust with Akro every day now (she’s Champion of Silvermoon & Undercity and is starting on Org) it shouldn’t be hard for me to take Leota through. Hoping there’s some good xp for her there, too!

Trackbacks

  1. Achievement Roll Call | World of Warcraft Wanderings

Leave a Reply

