Skip to content

Achievement Roll Call!

June 1, 2009

I had a GREAT weekend. The weather was gorgeous and I got a lot of out-of-game things accomplished.

It’s funny, I seem to achieve more in WoW when I don’t spend all of my free time there:

Go Leota go!

Go Leota go!

Leota: Can fly! Plus, used that new power in order to do some exploring around Northrend. The RFD run was to help The Rogue’s Mage (we are a confusing couple, I know) get the Robes of the Lich. Whenever I feel badly about Leota from now on, I’m going to go solo an Old World instance. ๐Ÿ™‚ Seriously, this mage DPS thing is so much easier than healing. I feel like I’m seeing these dungeons for the first time.

Akromah: Akromah continued her sick desire to be Champion of all the Horde factions (it’s the easy gold) and added Undercity to her collection. Now she’s working on Orgrimmar. Heroic Nexus brings down the number of Heroic dungeons she needs to see to two (Utgarde Pinnacle & Old Kingdom).

And we had a completely kick-ass Ulduar run! We managed to take down Flame Leviathan, Deconstructor and Razorscale!

/dance!

That’s for another post, though. Probably tomorrow.

Two Akro-chievements that Blizzard did not recognize are becoming Exalted with the Sons of Hodir! (yay! Now I’m a-gonna farm those relics and make back my gold!) and tanking her first ever Heroic Instance. That was messy. Really messy. Oh my goodness it was messy. When I stop crying about how horrible I was, I’ll tell you more.

But now it’s time to get back to work. Your turn! Big or small, Blizz-sanctioned or not, share your accomplishments below! (Or, yโ€™knowโ€ฆbrag on your own blog & leave a link here. You get the picture.)

(rabbit rabbit!)

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Mike_NJ permalink
    June 1, 2009 10:44 am

    Let’s see…
    Saturday and Sunday both were Croc days for the Shattrath fishing daily, however due to timing and other errands I only got to do one out of four on Saturday.
    Did dailies, basically, with the time I had Saturday.

    Sunday though, I decided to try to get my own paladin the Key to Karazhan. Discovered mid-process that I needed the key for Arcatraz, too.
    So I went into Shadow Labs and (on my best of three runs) got Murmur down to 8k-ish solo but that silence combined with the air-punt sucks. Skipped him and got the key guardian instead.
    Also soloed Botanica and Mechanar for the Arcatraz key parts, then in Arcatraz got squashed painfully when two of the Negaton voidwalker dudes decided to gang up on me, absorbed my Holy power, and then all of a sudden started healing from 2k to full (yes it was painful meleeing 60+k down with 500-point melee) and I got squished. So then I went back in, got back to the key part, started fighting the guardian, ended up with another of the Negaton dudes on me, so I looted the key part and ran to the exit.

    Just need to go into Caverns of Time: Black Morass to get the key.

  2. Derek permalink
    June 1, 2009 12:10 pm

    Not much WoW-ing this weekend but I did get lvl 60 on my Pally. Trying to get her mining to 300 before I go on with Hellfire so I don’t get to far ahead of the curve. That is it.

  3. June 1, 2009 2:23 pm

    I always wanted to participate on the roll-call. Two weeks ago, I took out several achievements and even took notes on what I done. I was all fired-up to post my achievements: LETโ€™S DO THIS! But you were on vacation and there was no roll-call last Monday. I can’t remember what i did last week ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  4. June 1, 2009 3:51 pm

    @Mike_NJ: Okay, that’s just hot. I wonder if Akromah can solo stuff like that. Are you ret?

    @Derek: Smart move. That’s what happened with Leota, she was unable to mine the Fel Iron in Outland and fell far behind. That’s why she’s an enchanter now. ๐Ÿ™‚

    @Jong: Quick! Make something up! Say you soloed Yogg-Saron. Say you have seven paladins writing your paladin blog and that you’re really a female but not really a female. Wait…you can’t make that stuff up. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Khaelie permalink
    June 1, 2009 5:48 pm

    well… i dont think i got a single achievement this weekend. -_-

    i did finally get the strand crawler from the fishing daily (and i got one of those nice gems in the same bag!) bringing my collection of pets to 63. i hope one day to have a little fawn to put in my collection.

  6. June 1, 2009 11:09 pm

    @Khaelie: Grats! 63 pets is nothing to sneeze at. Unless you have allergies.

  7. June 2, 2009 9:00 am

    @Kim:
    While I am specced as Retribution secondary, I am primarily Protection.
    From what I recall of peeking at Akromah’s armory the one time I saw it in Prot mode, you’re slightly better geared than me (I linked my armory for you), so it should pose no problem for you.

    I didn’t use much in the way of consumables – just the Everlasting Underspore Frond consumables for mana regen out of combat and the occasional looted scroll or potion. (Thinking back I might have had better luck against Murmur if I’d had a better consumable selection.)

    Shadow Labs: Avoid most mobs. You’ll need to clear some of the casters in the room with the first boss (Ambassador Hellmaw – you can skip him) to be able to get through the left door. You will need to clear the whole room of Blackheart the Inciter due to his air punts. You could clear the whole room in front of Grandmaster Vorpil unless you enjoy hairy situations and attack him head-on (like I did, pulling the WHOLE ROOM). The pulls before Murmur are also cake. Murmur himself, you still need to avoid the Sonic Boom (Nature resist pot might help here) and don’t forget to use Divine Plea, but cancel it if you need to heal yourself.

    Botanica: Again you can use proximity to avoid most mobs. You will need to kill all but the plant boss (Laj). Commander Sarannis will summon a healer so make sure you kill that when it appears. High Botanist Freywinn will “plant seeds” – one of which turns into 3-4 lasher-like plants while he channels a very annoying Tranquility – which left unchecked WILL heal him to near-full. So kill the lashers to stop the Tranq. Thorngrim’s not bad – you can outrange his point-blank Hellfire but I just switched to Fire Aura and resisted most of it. Warp Splinter is an attrition fight solo, though – When he calls his “children” (little druid-tree like elementals) try to damage them as much as you can (Avenger’s Shield, Hammer, etc) because the more health they have when he Moonbolts them, the more he gets back.

    Mechanar: Again 80 aggro radius will help you avoid a lot of mobs. Mechanolord Capacitus is cake. The gatewatchers have almost as much HP as a boss – 120k – but are easily smushed. (You need to kill them to turn on the elevator to the second level.) Nethermancer Sepethrea is a 95khp clothie however will spawn two fire elementals that have some pretty painful fire abilities. Most should be resistable with Fire Aura at 80. After her is a group of 4 mobs at the entrance to a tunnel. Killing them starts the event before the last boss – 6 waves of mobs will come at you. Lastly, the Pathaleon the Calculator is a simple tank fight; you can just shrug off the arcane elementals he spawns mid-fight.

    If you haven’t soloed any BC dungeons, you could do them sequentially to get used to the whole “self reliance” thing ๐Ÿ™‚ (They also make for great newbie levelling areas – I regularly drag family and friends through Ramps, UB, Slave Pens, Crypts, and Manatombs for gear/exp – and all of these require level 55 to enter!)

    Hope that helps ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. June 3, 2009 5:30 am

    so true, i also achieve more in the game when not spending every free minute there…. but then i don’t get to spend as much time in the game which is my favorite thing to do!!…… hmmmm…. quite a dilema!

  9. June 3, 2009 8:17 am

    @Mike: Thanks! Akro’s mostly holy and only goes prot when she wants to wipe the raid. (shudder) But I’d love to push her boundaries a bit when there’s nothing else going on.

    @Brett: Take last night…I spent the entire evening doing laundry, folding said laundry, putting laundry away, bagging up unworn stuff for charity, getting rid of hopelessly unfixable stuff. I got a lot accomplished. And I was cranky because I wasn’t in WoW. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

