Skip to content

Spoiled kids get everything these days

June 11, 2009
tags: ,

I am cranky.

I am cranky. Picture (c) Pixar & Disney

The venerable WoW.com reported last night that the Azeroth DMV (Department of Mounts & Vehicles, natch) is lowering the level requirement to train riding and get mounts.

  • Regular land mounts trainable at level 20 (was 30)
  • Epic land mounts trainable at level 40 (was 60)
  • Regular flying mounts trainable at level 60 (was 70)
  • Regular flying mounts speed increased to a 150% gain (was 60%)

And the prices to train riding and buy mounts are going down, too.

Bah.

Remember when you had to wait ’til 40 to get your first character’s mount? And you STILL had to eat ramen noodles for five level to afford it? My Sandriara (untalented? wha?) didn’t even train from level 35 to 40 in order to afford her first horse.

Now characters will be on ground mounts while they’re still in short pants and flying ALL through Outland.

Bah.

Speaking of, next thing they’ll be letting people get to Outland without running through Blasted Lands to the Dark Portal.

WHAT?!??!?

Bah.

And if you think I’m bitter because Leota couldn’t fly through Outland and bought her ghetto riding mount at 40, not 30 or 20 then…you’re right!

Bah.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Brian Z. permalink
    June 11, 2009 3:54 pm

    Um, when I saw this news item this morning (about the mounts, that is), I did kinda go “woo-hoo”.

    Don’t hate me. πŸ˜‰

    (I agree on the portals & zeppelins. Even though I’ll prolly use ’em, just like I’ve taken advantage of the nerfed cooldown on the hearthstones, they don’t have to take ALL the challenge out of it…)

  2. Cosmo the Fallacy permalink
    June 11, 2009 5:43 pm

    I like the changes! It makes the idea of bringing a new alt up much less tedious.

    I also like the idea that those people in my guild whose mains are not yet max level (for whatever reason) can get to max level more quickly.

    Once upon a time, I would bristle when people made the suggestion that “the game *begins* at max level” (which was 60 at the time). However, in the game as I play it now, this has become increasingly true.

    This is not to say that the old-world content is in any way invalid, but rather that the majority of players are in Northrend, and not being able to access these areas means that players are missing out on the most important (IMO) aspect of the game… the social aspect. Both within your guild and in PUGs, playing with other *players* is the real meat of the game. Missing out on this means missing out on something very fundamental to the experience.

    Furthermore, the old-world content had a significantly different design philosophy than the expansions. The old-world, by design, is much more of a time-sink than Northrend, or Outland. Just look at Blackrock Depths verses AN or Mechanar. The game is much more friendly now to groups who do not have hours and hours and hours to spend pushing through content. Unfortunately, this means that they must make some changes to make it easier and faster to get low level toons up to max level. However, I see this as a good thing… even if it does mean that new players and toons do not have to “pay their dues” like we did back in the day.

    tl;dr – I like this change and changes like it. It gets everyone to max level so we can play together easier and faster.

  3. Marrisol permalink
    June 11, 2009 5:49 pm

    @ Brian Z: I am going to shamelessly steal a comment from Dan H on Wow.com on their post concerning the mounts in regards to “taking the challenge out of it”:

    I think you’re confusing two different definitions of “easy”.

    These changes make it “easier” to buy mounts, which makes it “easier” to level. They do not make the game “easier” to play.

    Gaining levels does not require skill, it requires time. Acquiring gold does not require skill, it requires time.

    As a casual player, I want the game to challenge my skills, not test my patience. Getting the cash together for Epic Flying does not require me to play my main *well*. It just requires me to log on every evening and do dailies.

    Suggesting that WoW is too “easy” because they’re giving out mounts at lower levels is like suggesting that chess is “easy” because you get given all of the pieces the first time you play.

  4. June 11, 2009 7:00 pm

    Actually I went woo-hoo too cuz of my alts… πŸ˜›

  5. June 11, 2009 9:24 pm

    @ Marrisol: Absolutely true points, and don’t get me wrong, I’m not all THAT worked up about it. I guess I was just saying that time/resource management is also a skill, and having to take distance/cooldown/duration limitations into account when planning wasn’t such an obstacle to me that it required “softening,” is all.

    Like I said, as far as quicker & cheaper mounts goes, I’m firmly in the woo-hoo camp, for exactly the reasons you mention.

  6. Derek permalink
    June 12, 2009 8:44 am

    Well I first started playing right when the patch to switch the mounts to lvl 30 came out so I don’t know how it was back in classic times. But I can tell you, stop crying, if it bothers you that much when your alt gets to lvl 20 don’t get the mount wait until 30-40 so can feel like you did back in the day.

    Before you start flaming me, I’m one of them people that had to combine all their gold to even get close to the 5000g mark for the super fast flying. And that was even after 3 weeks of grinding dailies. I haven’t mastered the skill of making gold off the AH or even have a profession high enough to make gold. So the cheaper price is awesome.

    But just my opinion and you know what they say about opinions. So don’t hate me.

  7. June 12, 2009 9:52 am

    After an evening of pondering…

    1) I’m cool with the lower prices. If they lowered the level requirements without lowering prices, brand new players would most likely forgo the spendy professions that pay off in the end (enchanting, engineering, jewelcrafting) for the boring professions that they can make money off of right out of the gate (mining, herbalism.)

    2) I’d have liked Blizz to institute these level requirement changes once you get your first character on your account to 60. That way you tough it out with the One of the three things I liked about Dark Age of Camelot* was that once you had a max level character, your new alts could immediately level up to 20, if you wanted. But that was only unlocked once you had a max level character.

    3) You should talk to me about the lack of attunements in the game anymore. I’d really piss everyone off about that.

    @Marrisol: You need all of the chess pieces to begin playing a game of chess. You don’t need a mount to play WoW on the first day. And it will make the game easier and softer. All I can think of is how much easier some of the Alliance Darkshire quests will be with a mount.

    @Derek: Never any hate here. And I don’t tolerate flaming. So opinion away. πŸ™‚

    *the other 2 being dyeable armor and battlegrounds

  8. June 16, 2009 10:13 pm

    Wow that is really a shame. I’m old-school as well, and I’m getting a little bothered by how much Blizz is lightening everything up.

    40 for a land mount was a little much, but remember how GREAT it felt to save up that gold, ding 40, and be able to rush to get your mount?

    Now you can pretty much roll out of Westfall and have a mount.

Trackbacks

  1. World’s Worst Mage hits 80! | World of Warcraft Wanderings

Leave a Reply

