Skip to content

Potent Potables

June 17, 2009

I have been known to occasionally imbibe while playing WoW. I have to. I’m mostly a healer and a wee bit o’booze does wonders to take the “OMG if we wipe it’s all my fault!!!” edge off of a raid.

While a good red wine (I like Merlot) is my first choice, I’ll occasionally experiment with mixed drinks. While I’m SURE these have real names, I like to give them WoW names when I’m playing.

Pally Brew
Mint Chocolate Baileys & Coffee. Very straightforward, and the caffeine keeps me alert.

Frost Nova
One part Creme de Menthe (green colored, preferably), one part Creme de Cacao (clear, preferably) and one part water. I substituted one part vodka for the water, but that was far too strong and I had rez sickness the next day.

Silvermoon Slammer
Two parts Fruit Punch (I used Crystal Light fruit punch, oh the irony!) and one part Vodka. The red reminds me of the Silvermoon City tabards. I wonder what it’d taste like with some Goldschlager…not to make the drink more potent, but I think the gold would make it even more Silvermoon. 😉

I’m sure I’m not the only one who’ll tip one back while playing. What’s your favorite WoW drink? Non-alcoholic drinks welcome, especially if you’re under 21 in the USA.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Brian Z. permalink
    June 17, 2009 4:08 pm

    Ale. Seriously – I’ve become kinda wine-snobby about my strong preference for ales over lagers, and while I don’t own a tankard out of which to drink ’em (yet) I loves me some ale when I’m WoWing (or doing just about anything else besides driving. ^_^)

    Unless I’m playing earlier in the day, in which case coffee, strong ‘n’ sweet, is my beverage of choice.

    (Gawrsh, I haven’t had a mixed drink in YEARS…)

  2. Marrisol permalink
    June 17, 2009 4:56 pm

    I can barely stand the taste of alcohol. When I feel like a drink with some bite, it’s an amaretto sour. Only hard thing I’ve found yet that I can stomach. If it’s something lighter, I’ll go with a Mike’s Hard Lime.

  3. June 17, 2009 9:13 pm

    It depends.. If I’m instance running then I’m with you about Caffeine and make what I call The Ghostwolf Run (Vodka and RedBull). If I’m just questing then I’m all about a 6 of Mother’s Milk (Yuengling Lager).

  4. June 17, 2009 10:38 pm

    Milk.

    Yes, I said milk.

    I grew up on a dairy farm.

  5. some guy permalink
    June 18, 2009 10:29 am

    Tank Lubricant: Glass of scotch. No ice.

  6. Pox permalink
    June 18, 2009 10:59 am

    Hmmm… ??

    Cap’n & diet for me!!

  7. June 18, 2009 12:15 pm

    I nice strong Rum & Coke… usually about 1/2 way thru whatever raid we are in at the time. Some of your drinks look quite nice though… i may need to try them out! 🙂

  8. Mike_NJ permalink
    June 18, 2009 4:06 pm

    Snapple Nectarine or Raspberry White Tea
    Snapple Diet Peach tea
    Water
    Sobe Pomegrante Cherry Life Water
    Dannon Flavor Splash water, Wild Berry flavor
    Water
    Very rarely, a clear soda (esp Canada Dry Vanilla Cream)

    I wouldn’t mind milk – if I could pair it with something to munch on – but I have no easy way to keep it cool. And ice in milk is just bleh.

    For the non-bottled stuff I use a 52-oz Bubba Keg (http://www.bubbakeg.com/) that I bought at Target for ten bucks. (I did try it with milk, Just didn’t work; my bedroom’s too warm.)

  9. June 19, 2009 9:24 am

    If you get one for a ‘Moonglade Margarita’ let me know!! Hahahaha

  10. June 19, 2009 10:46 am

    This is a fun thread! I tried tanking Heroic Old Kingdom last night and I could have used one of what all you are having. 🙂

  11. Embalmo the Rogue permalink*
    June 19, 2009 10:47 am

    Rogue’s Thistle Tea – hot green tea in my Mickey Mouse mug.

  12. Justin permalink
    June 19, 2009 6:24 pm

    Well….I love myself a Scourge Snack, 2parts Midori, 1 part Stoli Vanili Vodka, 1 part milk (have used bailys before, not as good). This makes for a creamy green drink that is just rad.

    Alliance lancer….2parts Blue Curacao, 1part Blue Wave Vodka, 2parts Clear Soda (I use Sprite, but to each thier own, them alliance peoples could use that blue Mtn Dew) This makes a blue, fruity and bubbly drink that tastes great, and has quite a kick.

    Horde Harlot….1part Fire Water, 1part Goldschlager, and 2-3parts Big Red soda (any clear soda works, but big red is pink and tastes like bubblegum) This drink tastes like sweet cinnamon, and is red with gold sparklies. Guess this one looks like silvermoon too. huh. Maybe I should come up with a better name for this drink.

    I know alot more actually but these will do for now, let me know if ya want more.

  13. June 20, 2009 2:50 pm

    Damn you all. Now I’m going to spend all weekend working on the recipe for a “Warsong Gulp”

  14. June 20, 2009 6:20 pm

    SILVERMOON SLAMMER…WOOOOO!….hic!

Trackbacks

  1. World’s Worst Mage in Naxx! | World of Warcraft Wanderings

Leave a Reply

