Skip to content

OT: Farrah and Michael

June 25, 2009

(completely off topic from WoW)

If you have a little girl in your life, a daughter or niece or cousin, you’ve probably seen the little plastic stylist heads with the rooted hair and pretty face that allows the little girl to play hairstylist and makeup artist.

Today, the little stylist heads are of Disney Princesses and Bratz Dolls.

But mine was Farrah Fawcett.

And why not? If you grew up in the 1970s, Farrah was the prettiest girl ever. Charlie’s Angels was a kick-butt show, her poster was everywhere and she was married to the Six Million Dollar man!

But my poor stylist’s head looked more like Burning Bed Farrah than hot Noxzema commercial Farrah. Sorry, Farrah.

Like most little girls, dolls made way for music and dancing, and Michael Jackson made up much of the soundtrack of my teens and early 20s. From Billie Jean to Smooth Criminal to You Are Not Alone, there always seemed to be a Michael Jackson song on the radio, and that was okay.

The dancing in his videos were pure magic, and I gained many a bruise trying to moonwalk on uneven pavement or spin in place on the kitchen floor.

Today, as you know, Farrah died at the age of 62 and Michael died at 50.

I feel like a large part of my childhood died today, all in one day, and I’m not sure how to get past that.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 26, 2009 12:10 am

    For some reason it’s like I’m having trouble processing their ages… just never seemed that old to me. I suppose that has to do with knowing of them since I was little.

    Heck, I had a MJ “ken doll” complete with sparkly glove and microphone.

  2. June 26, 2009 2:21 am

    65 and 50 is not old to me, pretty young to be apart from this world where so much people and fans care. I’m sorry to hear your loss.

    Signature: Beckoning all adroit crusaders to trudge united into the realm where no inept squaddie endure’s a staunch union of nobles. Summoning http://apexwebgaming.com/browse/World-of-Warcraft – my bonded pack.

Leave a Reply

