Skip to content

Achievement Roll Call!

June 29, 2009

Hey Howdy Hey!

This week’s installment of the Achievement Roll Call is a perfect example of what happens when the player is too busy during the week to get any serious game time in.

Let’s begin.

Shadowfang Keep? srsly??

Shadowfang Keep? srsly??

As Leota was amazingly busy last week, I let her enjoy this week by doing the money grab I call the Midsummer Festival. Little by little, she simultaneously honored and doused the flames of Kalimdor, including a hi-larious trip into the Exodar and Darnassus for their flames. She did those two towns completely solo, and managed to even take a pot shot at Velen!

Akromah’s pride and joy for the week was that our Naxx-10 group FINALLY made it through Heigan without dying, giving her the Safety Dance achievement. FINALLY! (ducks the tomatoes tossed by the hardcores) How’d we do it? We only had 9 people, so the odds were better. Math ftw.

I got it into my fool head that Akromah should clear out all the Original Recipe WoW dungeons, which is why you see Shadowfang Keep & Scarlet Monastery up there. Y’know what burns? I used to solo Scarlet Monastery with her for fun (and the tabard, which never dropped for her) and yet she didn’t have the achievement. Hmph. That’s my favorite dungeon, by the by.

The guild ran Ulduar-10 on Saturday & Sunday. The Rogue and I were out (outside! in the sunshine!!) on Saturday when they downed FL & Deconstructor so we picked up on Sunday with Razorscale. We downed her on the 3rd try, fought our way through the Ignis trash (ugh) and gave him our best shot.

As per our guild rule, we gave Ignis 5 wipes*, making good progression with each try. I was hoping for the Hot Pocket achievement, but I bubbled inside and didn’t get credit. Booo! Then we moved on to Kologarn.

And let me tell you, I nearly wet myself when he freaking emerged out of nowhere!

Please don't eat us, Aretha!

Please don't eat us, Aretha!

I’m glad WoW can still surprise me like that.

We tried right arm and body. We tried left arm and body. We tried mauling each other with the eyebeams. We failed miserably, but every time we wipe we learn.

R E S P E C T

R E S P E C T

It’s slow going, but it’s still progression and I LOVE sinking my teeth into new stuff.

Your turn! Big or small, Blizz-sanctioned or not, share your accomplishments below!

*We try bosses five times before moving on or calling it. It sounds small compared to guilds that work three hours on a boss, but three hours can be frustrating if you aren’t a hardcore raiding guild. We want to have fun and see new content, not be frustrated. Five times is a solid number, and even if things are terribad, you know that the end of the misery is in sight.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Mike_NJ permalink
    June 29, 2009 3:52 pm

    Yay for vwoosh spam!

    Friday night I went with m’Lady to see Back to the Future on the BIG SCREEN and it ROCKED! (Okay so I’ve seen it on average once every two weeks since it came out on DVD. But still, I never saw it in the theatre and it was just awesome!)
    Saturday did WoWaginations and later went out with m’Lady.
    Sunday did church, breakfast with the fam, then went to see Transformers (my second time) with Dad and Bro, then dinner with them. Then over m’Lady’s house later when she got home from work.

    WoW-wise, I got my druid to 70 (and most of the way through the Swift Flight Form quest), my DK to 80 (from low 78, yay Midsummer quests and dailies). Paladin, mage, dk, and druid all are now Flame Wardens.

  2. June 29, 2009 4:39 pm

    I was there with you on Safety Dance. That was great! I was so excited that we were so close, I ate it in the face (twice) trying to keep everyone else topped off.

    Leafy did get to step foot into Naxx for a few moments this weekend. Long enough to do Arachnid and soak up the loot no one else wanted. Too bad all but one piece was off-off-spec.

    And Paks hit 50! (52 as of this morning. I facerolled Un’Goro in, like, an hour and a half. Devilsaur soloing is fun!)

  3. Cosmo the Fallacy permalink
    June 29, 2009 4:52 pm

    Aretha! Ha! Love it.

    In my TinyToon Adventure ™, my Pally isn’t quite so tiny anymore as I dinged 66, 67, 68, and 69, and am now starting to quest my way through Northrend.

    I’m hoping to get him up to 80 before the next patch hits. I assume that once the new content arrives (WOO! New 5-man! T9 badges out of all heroics!), I will be solely on my already-80-and-geared mains as we explore the newness of it all as a guild.

    Also – Nice shot of the tauren scratching his ass in front of Kologarn. 🙂

  4. Larscelia permalink
    June 29, 2009 5:15 pm

    Hey, look! I’m in the screen shot! LOL Least I’m in T7 and not my old mish-mash of gear. But I didn’t have my new dagger yet. Boo 🙂

    That has to be one of the coolest boss intros so far. And the fight has interesting mechanics. Now of we can only master them. XD

  5. June 30, 2009 8:05 am

    Gratz on the progression! I love wipe nights where people are learning and improving more than nights where we down bosses with ease.

    Just a tip. Ignore the left arm. DPS the right arm down. If the off-tank can pull the adds close to Kologarn’s body, then your aoe dps should be able to handle the rest.

  6. June 30, 2009 2:50 pm

    haha – you got Shadowfang Keep… i finally got around to doing Ragefire Chasm as i was in there getting the Flame for the holiday. I did also get my holiday title… flame keeper or warden or whatever.

    i remember the first time i saw Kologarn jump out like that – i was sure that someone facepulled and almost ran in there to heal… glad i didn’t do that! 🙂

Leave a Reply

