Skip to content

Achievement Roll Call

July 13, 2009

(stumbles back into the blog, wearing a dozy expression and bunny slippers)

Hello and welcome back! Those few days off from blogging were good. The layoffs were stressful and as I said Thursday, my heart is broken for those who were let go. Empty desks are such sad reminders.

I played only a little bit this past week, making the choice not to play my healer at all. You have to be in a decent frame of mind to heal raids (well, at least I do) so I passed on this weekend’s Naxx & Ulduar runs.

On Saturday, I was invited to some smaller runs on Leota. I wasn’t going to go, but reconsidered at the last moment.

And omigosh, wow.

Oh my.

Oh my.

We handily defeated Sartharion, even if I died in the lava waves. I ran TOWARD the waves instead of away. Seriously. They called “Caster Side” as in “Get your butts to the Caster Side” as ALWAYS and my brain heard, “Flee the Caster Side or you’ll die!” Yeeeah. That’s why I wasn’t healing this weekend.

Then we went and smashed Archavon and Emalon. (my first Emalon!) Leota got the PVP pants because they were an upgrade to Sorrowgrave’s Breeches.

And then…do you see that The Spellweaver’s Downfall achievement in there? That’s Malygos, baby!!! I don’t even have Maly done on Akromah! But we pushed through and downed him right at the enrage timer. Leota led on DPS for a tiny sliver of the fight, thanks to good power spark positioning. Many of our group got the Champion of the Frozen Waste title from that kill.

The paladin is not pleased. All she did was become super duper loved and exalted by the entire Horde.

There are plenty of Wintergrasp achievements on there too, because I took Leota there for the first time. Must have been inspired by the new pants.

But the biggest, bestest achievements aren’t here, because I wasn’t there when they happened. Our plucky guild finally downed Ignis AND Kologarn! I’m so proud of’em. It’s hard when you don’t have hours and hours on end to bash your heads against an instance, especially when you’re doing 10-man and especially in an instance that’s tuned to be as difficult as Ulduar is.

And it’s harder still when you don’t require x-many hours a week of raiding and you don’t gear-check every prospective member of the guild and you don’t have the luxury of having extras waiting outside the instance door.

I’m so proud of you guys!

Your turn! Big or small, Blizz-sanctioned or not, (or even if you weren’t even there) share your accomplishments below!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Mike_NJ permalink
    July 13, 2009 11:46 am

    Life-wise…
    Friday I did… stuff*.
    Saturday I did a bunch of cleaning, but it was only like 3% that needed to be done. Went out with m’Lady. Went to Chili’s. Chili’s sucks, EVERYTHING is spicy.
    Sunday was the Parents 35th Anniversary. Early on, we discovered Mom’s cell phone is toast and needs to be replaced. At 7:30am we went to Mass where they renewed their wedding vows. After that, we came home, got changed, and went out for breakfast buffet – which we didn’t get home from til 11. Then at 2:30 we went out to dinner at The Pub. I wanted steak but got ribs’n’chicken instead to make it easier on my stomach. We took a quick trip to Walmart and Target for a new charger hoping that would fix Mom’s phone (it didn’t). Then we got home and did cards.

    WoW-wise, I got a few fishing achievements done here or there – nothing I really had to work for, just fish counts – got the shaman to 63 and that’s about it really. Oh, took my DK into WG for the first time. Unfortunately, no one on my server does just-Archavon anymore, and none of my 80s are well-geared enough to pull the player-induced limit of 2-2.5k DPS unbuffed, so I missed 7? VoA raids (fourteen, if you count both difficulties.)

  2. Mike_NJ permalink
    July 13, 2009 11:48 am

    Grr, I try to scroll down and mis-click and hit “Submit.”
    Doh.

    Anyway, “stuff*” means “I really don’t remember what I did. I may have watched a movie, or I did random WoW stuff that includes a crappy PUG, Wintergrasp, farming, helping a guildmate, dungeon-boosting an alt, or a metric ton of dailies.”

    @ Kim – Congrats on some sweet achievements! And shiny new pants, yay!

  3. July 13, 2009 12:27 pm

    Gratz on the progress! Sounds like you had a fun weekend! 🙂

  4. Cosmo the Fallacy permalink
    July 13, 2009 3:11 pm

    I’ve paused my paladin’s furious leveling at 74 so I can max out his professions before moving on. In the last week, I’ve brought his Mining and Engineering both from Mithril/Truesilver levels up to Cobalt/Saronite levels. Last night I put an electromagnetic pulse generator on my belt, Nitro boosters on my boots, and a parachute on my cloak. I’m finally at the “really fun stuff” area of engineering. I can also finally make my own arrows for my hunter toon.

    I just have one more big push before I can make my paladin’s epic endgame goggles. Unfortunately, this “one big push” is also the most onerous and/or expensive, so I have the choice of either blowing a bunch more money, or spending a bunch more time. Decisions, decisions.

    Oh yeah… I also stood on the corpse of Kologarn for the first time. I got a screencap of my Shaman sitting on his dead face. 😀

    /flex

  5. July 13, 2009 10:19 pm

    i didn’t do NAxx or Ulduar this weekend either =(

  6. Derek permalink
    July 14, 2009 9:21 am

    Not much done, downed General Verax on my DK, Got my Retadin to lvl 80 but that is about it since I left for Vacation on Saturday.

  7. July 15, 2009 2:43 pm

    i have been leveling my priest… so he has gotten some of the outland dungeon achivements… he will be in NR soon now, prolly 2 or 3 days. i had to take a break from all the dailies and such on my shaman though… it was turning into burnout!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

