Skip to content

It's July; therefore, I hate World of Warcraft.

July 17, 2009

The BEST thing about having a blog – ANY type of blog – is that you have a written history of your habits and tendencies.

I wrote one blog post in July, 2008. My first post in August explains why: I hate playing WoW in July.

I am a summer girl. I love it being light later at night. I love shorts and flipflops and feeling the heat radiating off the streets and pavements. I love our little town’s numerous festivals and nights out. I love going to free outdoor concerts and the beach. I don’t love sitting in front of the computer for hours on end. It feels like I’m wasting July.

And when I do sit in front of my computer after sunset, I don’t want to try and get a Threat/Cit group. I don’t even want to mine. I want to do fluffy, mindless things.

Enter Facebook.

Fluffy little time-wasters.

Fluffy little time-wasters.

I started with Mafia Wars. It’s fun and doesn’t take a lot of time to play. You create a mobster (mine is Annabella Macaroni) and level her up by doing jobs and fighting other bosses and mobsters. Higher level jobs bring in more money that you can use to buy more weapons, armor, properties, etc. You can only play as long as your mobster has energy, and you regain one point of energy every five minutes. So once you’re out of energy, you can’t play for a while. Fair deal.

To kill time waiting for my energy to regenerate I began playing Bejeweled Blitz. I’ve loved Bejeweled for years and in Facebook’s version, the game lasts for only a minute and your score gets compared with your friends’ scores. Bragging rights? Sign me up!

I gooshed about Mafia Wars so much that The Rogue started playing too (good, because I really need more people in my family) and he discovered Pirates. It’s the same as Mafia Wars, but Pirate themed and apparently much easier. I joined his crew shortly thereafter.

Finally, on my Facebook wall one of my friends “found a lost cow” on his FarmVille farm. “Will you take care of it?” the status message asked. The cow was adorable and frowning. I immediately took ownership of the sad Tauren bovine and now I have a tiny 12-plot farm that’s growing strawberries, eggplants, wheat, soybeans and a tiny bit of milk, courtesy of the cow.

These little games are ADDICTIVE and lately I’ve found myself dedicating my short amount of nightly game time to them.

But fear not, loyal WoW readers…I’m going to raid a bit this weekend (hopefully) and I still have bottles of Alliance & HOrde Mountain Dew to review.

And August is only 2 weeks away.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Ashley permalink
    July 17, 2009 4:01 pm

    Oh my goodness, I’m the exact same way! Well, almost… very close, anyway!

    I can’t stand the heat so instead of being outside wearing shorts and flip-flops, I’m inside wearing jeans and a T-Shirt with the AC cranked on.

    But in the past three weeks I think I’ve played more of Farmville and Farmtown on Facebook than any of my WoW characters.

  2. Malfeasance permalink
    July 17, 2009 4:36 pm

    I feel ya. I’m do horrible things to the people of Albion in Fable 2 and writing my butt off, so I’m in the “hating WoW” mood right now as well.

  3. Cosmo the Fallacy permalink
    July 17, 2009 4:43 pm

    I can never bring myself to run any of those Facebook apps. Whenever I get invited to one, I click on it, and it gives me this notice asking for my permission to give this application access to all of the information available on my profile. I’m not really comfortable with that. This stems from the myriad privacy issues I have with Facebook, as a whole, and is therefore a different rant altogether. But the result is that I just don’t ever get into any of these Facebook minigames.

    As for going outside in the summer… The Outside is where the hot Yellowface is. It *BURNS* us, precious! We fears the Yellowface and hates it heat! We hates it! [/gollum]

    Yeah… I’ve never had much problem staying in and playing WoW on a nice summer’s day.

  4. Whodaprey? Joodaprey! permalink
    July 19, 2009 4:31 am

    I would have to agree with Cosmo on this one for the most part. I have no problem with spending a day w/friends in the sun and doing outside activities, but at the same time I love spending 3 or 4+ days a week sitting inside on the computer doing what I enjoy the most, which is being who I am known best for (Jooda), and having fun w/people all around the nation and even world who make life enjoyable with their (internet-based)presence, and thoughts

  5. Embalmo the Rogue permalink*
    July 20, 2009 8:54 am

    Blinds shut, lights off, air conditioning on. Summer ftw.

Trackbacks

  1. Achievement Roll Call! | World of Warcraft Wanderings

Leave a Reply

