Skip to content

Achievement Roll Call

July 27, 2009

Didn’t play WoW this week at all, as I was thrashing about with a freelance project. I was coding PHP and working with MySQL databases and everything REAL programmers were working with three years ago!

I finished 98% of it Friday night (waiting for client approval) had a HUGE weekend planned, featuring an outdoor concert and playing in the park with the dogs and trying out a cupcake idea. Maybe a little outdoor shopping and some water ice.

Then the Naaru said, “nyet*” and struck me down with swine flu a sticky, fevery, summer cold.

(I promise, the WoW part is coming after the jump)

So I stayed in and dipped my toes back into the warm & welcoming swimming pool that is World of Warcraft.

The Rogue is working on his third character, the Lolmage. Lolmage is an alchemist and in order for him to make flasks, he had to gather things from Black Morass. Which meant a run through Old Hillsbrad first. It was a good reason to get Akromah out of storage. With four level 80s and a level 76, the only one who needed healing was Thrall, funny enough.

And hello? When did Black Morass get nerfed? I know I’m far over the level requirement, but I recall Black Morass having a lot more angry dragons in it. Ah, for the good old days of :

“NORTHWEST! PORTAL NORTHWEST!”
“Dammit, Jim, I’m out of mana!”
“Drop your Chrono-beacon! OMG we’re screwed!”
(cue healer crying)

Anyway…Lolmage got his whatever and can now make flasks.

Wait…you’re here for the Achievement report…that’s right. Sorry, Nyquil hangover.

Better than nothing, right?

Better than nothing, right?

I took Leota into Wintergrasp a few times this weekend (to enjoy it a little before 3.2 completely RUINS it for its biggest fans) and netted some easy achievements. Akromah did her AT dailies on Sunday and BOOM, baby! Achievement!

And I felt good because I had something to post here.

Coming up this week on the humble WoW blog…

  • A look at my new interface
  • Why I dread 3.2
  • A post from The Rogue on Lolmage’s progress
  • And anything else that may come up

Enough about me! Your turn! Your turn! Big or small, Blizz-sanctioned or not, share your accomplishments below!

*I’m sorry…when I think Naaru I think Draenei and when I think Draenei I think of Boris & Natasha (it’s the accent) so to me, by default, the Naaru are Russian.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2009 10:20 am

    On Osprey, I managed to get all 4 Outland cooking dailies completed…finally! So now I’m Kickin’ it Up A Notch. 🙂 Our 25-man raid managed to finally down Hodir on Thursday, and in the process, the only ones standing were our Rogue and all of the NPCs…so now I Have the Coolest Friends.

    My 3rd level 80, Falken the Rogue, got 200 Daily Quests, and is now a Champion of Gnomeragan.

    Poor Kestrel, the Hunter…all he got was Exalted with Honor Hold. 🙂

  2. Mike_NJ permalink
    July 27, 2009 10:57 am

    Friday I had a date with m’Lady… we witnessed a supremely cool thunderstorm and missed getting poured on by 15 seconds. We had gone to the Outback across from the Deptford Mall and made it into the front door as the rain came down!
    Saturday and Sunday I did a lot of vegging. Watched some Stargate Atlantis, Charmed, a couple movies.

    Did a few dungeons. Got the plain old zero-drake achievement for 25-man Sarth with my paladin. Unfortunately, half the loot was previously called dibs (you run the raid, I guess you get that option) and 2 of the tokens for mage/druid/dk gloves dropped. Doh.
    Bought 4 horde-side cooking recipes from the AH for less than 10 gold total (extreme bargain) and hit 160 recipes with my mage.
    Did a bunch of losing Wintergrasp. The Ulduar horde guilds must be bored, because I got stomped by a LOT of people wearing full Ulduar gear. (Yeah I spent a lot of time looking at the rez area.)
    Rogue hit 58 and got the Dire Maul trinket.
    Warlock and warrior started the ST trinket quests.
    Tried to get my priest and second hunter into playing mode (as opposed to mule mode.)

  3. July 27, 2009 12:45 pm

    i mostly worked on leveling my Priest this weekend. I did get his enchanting high enough to train in northrend!! i wouldnt wish the pain of leveling enchanting on anyone! it is no fun at all! I also put together a group with my Main and ran Heroics for achievements, so we got all of them out of HoL, HoS, DTK and Gundrak. then we went on to some raiding, but i didnt get any new achievements there.

  4. Haavok permalink
    July 27, 2009 5:28 pm

    Hello Guildie! Larscelia sent me a link to your blog the other day, so now I’m going to get into so much trouble here at work!

    I don’t get to post pictures in my post here, but if I could, I would post a screenshot of my titanbar telling me I had gained over 1069gold in my Saturday session! I had quested the he77 out of Scholazar Basin and sold a crap ton of saronite, and even a chunk of titansteel on the AH! I’m still 1900 from epic flying training, but I’m hoping to do a lot of mining this week to make up the difference, and then go farm for the Raven Lord Mount!

    Along the way I cleared the 1500 quests complete acheivement, and showed that I still can’t do the safety dance… But hey! It was only my second try!

    Other then that, just trying to stay cool in the late July heat that finally hit the Pacific North West! Going to be a hit week this week.

    Later Fellow Wanderers!

  5. Haavok permalink
    July 27, 2009 5:31 pm

    … Hot week… >.>

    • July 28, 2009 11:14 am

      @Kestrel: Grats on Hodir! I need to get Akro back into the weekly Ulduar. A few weeks off and I completely lost my mojo.

      @Mike_NJ: I guess if you have full Ulduar gear, there’s nothing left for you to do but WG. I’m still trying to swing a trip to New Hope.

      @Khaelie: Leota JUST made it to Northrend level enchanting. It. Is. Such. A. Pain.

      @Havoc: It’s good to see you getting into Naxx! I’m the most situationally-unaware person I know & this is how I do Heigan. I turn the camera so that I’m looking down on myself. That helps me know exactly where to stop. If you mentally draw lines out from the two forward corners of the platform, that shows you zone 1 and zone 4. If you mentally draw a line out through the room from the front-center of the platform, that divides the front into zones 2 and 3. I also chant “spa-LOOSH-a” in my head to give me the rhythm. Ok…that reads weird.

Leave a Reply

